Screen resolution not stable

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Screen resolution not stable

Postby Tony-photoplus on Wed Mar 18, 2009 2:41 pm

I have just loaded up the latest Mint Felicia, just having problems with the new graphics card Nvidia Geforce 9400GT. I can't select the resolution from the 'screen resolution', it would only allow me to do this from the NVidia software. When I reboot it goes back to 1024x768. I like working on 1152x864. The hardware tells me that the Nvidia version is 177 and this is recomended. How can I make this stable?

Tony
Tony-photoplus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:14 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Screen resolution not stable

Postby Husse on Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:53 pm

Perhaps like this
Code: Select all
gksu nvidia-settings

You need to be root for the nvidia settings to be "sticky"
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen resolution not stable

Postby Tony-photoplus on Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:29 pm

Husse wrote:Perhaps like this
Code: Select all
gksu nvidia-settings

You need to be root for the nvidia settings to be "sticky"


Thanks for answering my request for help. I have done this in root and all I got was this in the terminal
RROR: Cannot open display 'tony-desktop:0.0'.


ERROR: Unable to assign attribute DigitalVibrance specified on line 21 of
configuration file '/home/tony/.nvidia-settings-rc' (no Display
connection).


ERROR: Unable to assign attribute SyncToVBlank specified on line 22 of
configuration file '/home/tony/.nvidia-settings-rc' (no Display
connection).

This carries on to number 52. It did however open up the Nvidia terminal and I did save the settings in a file. But I am not hopeful looking at this ERROR list :(

Tony
Tony-photoplus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: Screen resolution not stable

Postby Husse on Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:14 am

no Display connection

That's it
For some reason there's a problem detecting the display (monitor)
Does nvidia-settings show a display on the front page?
What happens if you execute xrandr in a terminal - you should get a list of available resolutions and refresh rates
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Screen resolution not stable

Postby Tony-photoplus on Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:42 am

I think we have cracked it - xrandr

tony@tony-desktop ~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1152 x 864, maximum 1152 x 864
default connected 1152x864+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1152x864 50.0* 52.0 53.0 54.0
1024x768 51.0 55.0 56.0 57.0 58.0 59.0
960x540 60.0
840x525 61.0 62.0
832x624 63.0
800x600 64.0 65.0 66.0 67.0 68.0 69.0
720x450 70.0
720x400 71.0
700x525 72.0
680x384 73.0 74.0
640x480 75.0 76.0 77.0 78.0
640x400 79.0
640x350 80.0
512x384 81.0 82.0 83.0
400x300 84.0
320x240 85.0 86.0
320x175 87.0
Do you think?

It seems to be loading now at least without having to change it each time

Thanks for the help

Tony
Tony-photoplus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: Screen resolution not stable

Postby Husse on Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:21 am

Fine - I see low refresh rates
If you don't use twinview add this
Code: Select all
 Option      "DynamicTwinView"   "False"

to Section "Device" in xorg.conf
Increased my refresh from 52 to 75
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pauldbegginer and 12 guests