Cpu AMD64 3200+ (core Venice) only beating at 1 Ghz. Solved

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Cpu AMD64 3200+ (core Venice) only beating at 1 Ghz. Solved

Postby 7hierry on Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:49 am

Hello folks,

General informations:

$ uname -r
2.6.27-14-generic

CPU : AMD64 3200+ (core Venice)

Release: Felicia X_64

Here's my problem :

According to the Gdesklet 'Side Candy CPU 0.10' my cpu only beats at 1000 MHz whereas the AMD brand specifies 3200+ (..?).

Can someone tell me how to get the full speed out of the CPU by default ?

Thank you in advance.
Last edited by 7hierry on Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
7hierry
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cpu AMD64 3200+ (core Venice) only beating at 1 Ghz.

Postby MsChevyKat on Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:58 pm

I use the CPU Frequency monitor applet on the gnome panel to manage that.
MsChevyKat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:21 am

Re: Cpu AMD64 3200+ (core Venice) only beating at 1 Ghz.

Postby 7hierry on Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:05 pm

Thank you.

No other tip available ? because the applet only boosts up to 2 GHz my Cpu, not beyond.

Thank you in advance.
7hierry
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:15 am

Re: Cpu AMD64 3200+ (core Venice) only beating at 1 Ghz.

Postby AK Dave on Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:15 pm

If you haven't overclocked your 3200+, it should clock at exactly 2.0ghz. Not 3.2ghz.

Here's a nice review of your CPU:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/di ... -3200.html

Note that the NAME of the CPU is "3200+", but that is not the clock speed of the CPU. Don't confuse the two. It makes you look very silly.

If it is clocking at 1.0ghz, that may be easily explained by the fact that the OS is only going to ask the CPU to perform at full speed when it is necessary to do so. Your OS should be using frequency scaling for power management.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Cpu AMD64 3200+ (core Venice) only beating at 1 Ghz.

Postby 7hierry on Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:19 am

Thank you for these helpful informations.

Have a nice day.
7hierry
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:15 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MasalinkyGin and 15 guests