Some hardware issues with ASUS A7K Laptop

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Some hardware issues with ASUS A7K Laptop

Postby GGentzel on Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:25 am

Hello, I've recently installed Linux Mint on my ASUS A7K laptop through Vista (meaning Vista is the host). It's running great for the most part accept for a few issues (that I know of so far). The first issue is the wifi. At first it didn't work. I spent some time googling and reading and experimenting and eventually got it to work by installing the madwifi driver. The only issue now is that when I start the laptop up it doesn't immediately work. I have to stop and restart the device to get it work. I assume that it is initializing the old driver first, but I'm not sure. **Note: I am new to Linux and coming from Windows so I am very much in the ultra noob zone** I can live with this, but it'd be nice if it worked without doing that.

The major problem is that I don't have any sound. At first when I installed the sound mixer acted like there was a working device but there was never any sound coming out of it. I checked the volume controls, made sure everything was turned up, made sure it was un-muted, opened up the advanced and tried all the different audio event types. Nothing. Unfortunately, like a complete %&^@%!(% I didn't plug in earphones to see if I got sound like that. After reading some documentation I was under impression that there was a bug in the ALSA driver. I built and installed the driver that the site indicated would make it work restarted the computer and now the system doesn't even see that there is a device anymore. I'm really lost at this point, have made the problem worse, and have decided that instead of thrashing about making things even worse I should seek more informed help.

This is a link to the laptop: http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/asus-a7 ... 53805.html