No input from mic

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

No input from mic

Postby k0tuk on Sun Apr 12, 2009 7:08 am

Hi!

I`ve just installed Linux Mint on my friend`s Gateway Laptop and everything works fine, except for the sound input. He tried to connect the mic (usual, not USB), but no success. Alsamixer shows only Master control, with no others... No sound in skype. Alsa installed. Here is lspci:

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HBM (ICH8M-E) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8800M GTS (rev a2)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection (rev 61)
03:00.0 Mass storage controller: Silicon Image, Inc. Sil 3531 [SATALink/SATARaid] Serial ATA Controller (rev 01)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)
0c:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW323 (rev 70)


Any ideas?
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No input from mic

Postby Husse on Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:42 am

ICH (or HDA) sound can't use pulse audio
Standard solution here
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=17801&p=107982&hilit=ich8+alsa#p107982
In your case it would be model=gateway
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No input from mic

Postby k0tuk on Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:54 am

so adding
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=gateway
to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base would enable all options in alsamixer and also enable sound input?

Ok, i`ll try that.
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Re: No input from mic

Postby k0tuk on Sun Apr 12, 2009 12:50 pm

I added, and still only master control in alsamixer...
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Re: No input from mic

Postby Husse on Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:04 pm

There are - in preferences - lots of alternatives to enable
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No input from mic

Postby k0tuk on Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:23 pm

Well, after playing a bit with settings, i have been able to enable it :) Thanks :wink:
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Re: No input from mic

Postby sds on Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:08 pm

k0tuk, could you pls let us know what settings are needed? I've the same mic problem.

Thanks.
sds
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:01 pm

Re: No input from mic

Postby k0tuk on Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:18 pm

sds wrote:k0tuk, could you pls let us know what settings are needed? I've the same mic problem.

Thanks.


I`m sorry, pal, but that wasn`t my laptop, and the guy who has it is left the country for ~4 months... :roll: so i don`t have access to it now. I remember that i enabled some addition features in gnome`s volume control, and then unmuted them... That`s all, i guess.
k0tuk
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests