Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby ryzvonusef on Mon May 18, 2009 6:06 am

Hello!
I have a weird problem. My brother was watching a video on the comp when an "error" popped up and the sound driver stopped working. (obviously he doesn't remember what the error was, sigh!)
Well, poking around, I came to the conclusion that the ALSA driver had something to do with it, so I switched it over to OSS one (in the sound preferences) and Hey Presto! It works, I can hear everything.
Well not exactly. The transition wasn't smooth, but going through the audio option of the media players and selecting OSS made them work. The thing is, I can't do that for media players that don't have an audio driver option. Case in point, Firefox and Totem.
Totem has no option for selecting the audio driver, so playing anything makes the video to appear as if it is muted, though obviously that's not the case. Same case the case for Firefox. Playing online content, like Youtube, has become a pain. I can't hear anything, though downloading the same file and playing it locally produce sound effortlessly.
So my question is, how do I coax the whole system to just accept the OSS driver? Alternatively, How do I restore the ALSA driver to working condition?
I have a built-in "Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller" sound card, and it has never given me trouble on ubuntu, and until now, worked flawlessly on linux mint too.
User avatar
ryzvonusef
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby Husse on Fri May 22, 2009 6:46 am

Try to reinstall alsa
Code: Select all
apt install alsa-utils alsa-base

There are also libasound2 and libesd-alsa0 in alsa but they are pulled by the install above I think - if not install them too
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby ryzvonusef on Sun May 24, 2009 4:35 am

Thanks Husse for replying.
I entered the following into my terminal.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install --reinstall alsa-utils alsa-base libasound2 libesd-alsa0

It reinstalled them, but no dice.
The sound doesn't work in the sound preferences when I choose ALSA, (though it still does when I choose OSS) and Youtube still provides no sound.
What next, chief? :D
User avatar
ryzvonusef
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:46 am

Re: Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby Husse on Sun May 24, 2009 5:25 am

I'll give you a standard answer I should have started with :)
I have to dig a bit deeper...
You have to tell us more facts.
The minimum is exactly which Mint you have - which version and which edition (main or any of the CEs)
We also need to know a bit about all your hardware.
Run " lspci " in a terminal and post here (to avoid misunderstanding - the first character is a minor L and you copy by marking with the mouse and then right click)
Some wifi and possibly built in sound can be connected to USB even if they are internal - if you suspect you have one of these run " lsusb " in a terminal.
Also tell us if this is using mint4win or not, quite important
This is a standard answer so it may not be fully applicable to your situation
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby ryzvonusef on Sun May 24, 2009 6:30 am

Okey dokey :)
I have Linux Mint 6 Felicia Main (the one with all the codecs, and its GNOME)
No, no mint4win, it's a proper dual-boot install with Windows XP.
Here is the info you asked for.
Code: Select all
lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE Host-to-AGP Bridge (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 82)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL (ICH4/ICH4-L) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DB (ICH4) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 330 [Xabre] PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter (rev 01)
02:01.0 Communication controller: Rockwell International HCF 56k Data/Fax/Voice/Spkp (w/Handset) Modem (rev 01)
02:03.0 Ethernet controller: ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100 (rev 11)
Code: Select all
lsusb
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 413c:2003 Dell Computer Corp. Keyboard
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Anything else?
User avatar
ryzvonusef
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:46 am

Re: Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby Husse on Mon May 25, 2009 5:54 am

Hmm - nothing of interest in your hardware
You also have a win modem, you can't shut that off and keep sound but that's not your problem
I have tried to search for solutions for oss in FF and Totem but did not find much
I don't know if this is still valid but you could make/edit a file in /home/your_name/.gnome2 called totem_config
Add/edit a line so you have
audio.driver:oss
You can also have alsa and auto here
For Firefox nothing, but it's normally not FF you hear but flash
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby ryzvonusef on Wed May 27, 2009 4:38 am

Sorry, Husse, but still no sound.
There was no file of that name there, so I created it and put
Code: Select all
audio.driver:oss
as you asked. No effect.
Firefox, or rather, flash is also mute.
Any other ideas?
Btw, if I upgrade to the recently released "Gloria", can I hope for it to automagically fix this problem for me?
User avatar
ryzvonusef
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:46 am

Re: Firefox,Totem won't play nice with the OSS driver

Postby Husse on Wed May 27, 2009 6:29 am

Btw, if I upgrade to the recently released "Gloria", can I hope for it to automagically fix this problem for me?

Very hard to say as we don't know what the problem is really but I think there's at least a good chance
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests