Upgrade question

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Upgrade question

Postby snodgrss1984 on Tue May 19, 2009 10:36 pm

Hi, i am talking hardware upgrade. I know for a fact that i have a socket 478 1.8 ghz pentium 4 and in a program it said my max is 3060 which is 3.0 HT my question to you is if i baught that processor would i have to buy anything else or would it work with all current hardware... any input is always appriciated :mrgreen:
snodgrss1984
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Upgrade question

Postby grimdestripador on Tue May 19, 2009 11:13 pm

You would need to know the supported Front Side Bus speeds for your motherboard and verify that the processor is compatable. See your motherboard manual for listing of supported processors. If the documentation is too much, Please give us Motherboard Manfacturor and Model Number.
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: Upgrade question

Postby snodgrss1984 on Wed May 20, 2009 10:43 pm

i have a dell dimension 8200 I850 motherboard

RDram
snodgrss1984
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm

Re: Upgrade question

Postby snodgrss1984 on Wed May 20, 2009 10:45 pm

i have heard as long as my computer is socket 478 its ok and cpuid said max is 3060
snodgrss1984
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm

Re: Upgrade question

Postby snodgrss1984 on Fri May 22, 2009 10:51 pm

so no answer i850 support 478 wouldnt it work
snodgrss1984
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm

Re: Upgrade question

Postby snodgrss1984 on Sat May 23, 2009 12:26 am

i am just going to save up for amd phenom x4
snodgrss1984
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:31 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 15 guests