Empty /lib/modules/(kernel version)/build directory

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Empty /lib/modules/(kernel version)/build directory

Postby theluckyone17 on Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:24 pm

Alrighty... I've been beating my head against this problem for about a day. I'm almost willing to give up, but I swallowed my pride and thought I'd better ask for help first.

I'm new to Linux Mint. I've got an MSI Wind U100, with one of those crappy Sentelic touch pads. The tap clicking drives me crazy, and the only way to disable it appears to be through installing Sentelic's driver. This procedure amounts to manually patching the psmouse kernel driver. The process can be detailed on this thread, mostly on page 3: http://forums.msiwind.net/default-msiwind/sentelic-linux-drivers-released-under-gnu-gpl-t4828.html.

I've successfully done this on Ubuntu, prior to installing Linux Mint. Seeing as Linux Mint is based off Ubuntu, I thought i'd be able to follow relatively the same steps... which didn't work out so well.

Basically, the makefile recommended on that page is meant to build just the psmouse driver, without building the rest of the kernel. Problem is, the makefile references /lib/modules/$(KVERSION)/build, which resolves to /lib/modules/2.6.28-13-generic/build. That directory is empty. I did reinstall the linux-headers-2.6.28-13 package, but it fails to populate that build directory.

I found a partial resolution by installing linux-source-2.6.28, and built a kernel by hand (I've run Gentoo on my desktop for a few years, so I'm used to compiling kernels. Not an expert, though, obviously). Problem is, this kernel reports its version as 2.6.28.9... and since the versions are different, I can't simply copy the patch psmouse driver over to the 2.6.28-13-generic kernel.