IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby jlr1701 on Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:37 am

Hey everybody,

This is my first post in the forums. I am new to Linux Mint and still pretty new to Linux generally, though I've played with it occasionally. I dumped Windows Vista this morning. So far I love Linux Mint 7 and I have all of my hardware working -- except for my video camera. It is a Sony HandyCam DCR HC-52. My system is a Dell Dimension XPS 720 that is a couple of years old.

I have tried Kino and Cinelerra so far. No luck importing video. Cinelerra tanks (locks up) when I try to record (I think I figured out how to do that!), and Kino complains about the IEEE 1394 subsystem not responding. So... how do I get Mint to activate that subsystem and then recognize my camera?

Just as an aside, Kino looks good. So does Cinelerra, but I feel in WAY over my head there! :) Any other software suggestions?

Thanks,

Jeff
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby Husse on Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:27 am

The firewire problem could be this (explanation and solution)
I could also be that the module is not loaded. What do you get from
Code: Select all
lsmod | grep 1394

You should find at least one module
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby kwisher on Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:05 pm

Husse,

I get the following error in Mint-7:

Code: Select all
$ sudo chmod a+rw /dev/raw1394
[sudo] password for kevin:
chmod: cannot access `/dev/raw1394': No such file or directory


This command worked in Mint-5, not sure about Mint-6.

I have to start Kino from a term with "sudo kino" to be able to capture video from my camera.

Update: The error above occurred without my camera connected and powered on. After connecting and powering on the camera and issuing the command, it worked.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby jlr1701 on Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:20 pm

Husse wrote:The firewire problem could be this (explanation and solution)
I could also be that the module is not loaded. What do you get from
Code: Select all
lsmod | grep 1394

You should find at least one module


I got this from that command:

ohci1394 38576 0
ieee1394 94660 1 ohci1394


No idea what any of that means! :)

Haven't tried any solution to this issue yet. What do the results from that lsmod/grep command indicate?

Thanks much,

Jeff
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby Husse on Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:45 am

Jeff you have the right modules loaded
lsmod is
ls list
mod modules (drivers) in the kernel
a very handy command if you want to see if you have the drivers loaded for your gadget
lsmod can of course be run without argument but you get a long list
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby jlr1701 on Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:07 am

Changing the file permissions worked! Whoo-hoo!! :D

Thanks very much for your help!
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby jlr1701 on Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:57 pm

Changing the file permissions fixes this problem, but it doesn't survive a reboot. Would it be possible to write a shell script to change the file permissions at boot time? If so, how would I go about doing that?

Thanks,

Jeff
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:36 pm

Changing the file permissions worked!

If you tell me what you did I might have a fix
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby jlr1701 on Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:54 pm

Husse wrote:
Changing the file permissions worked!

If you tell me what you did I might have a fix

Hello Husse,

I followed the directions in this link:

http://adventuresinswitching.blogspot.c ... oaded.html

... which basically boils down to issuing this command in Terminal:

sudo chmod a+rw /dev/raw1394


That fixes the problem I was having, but it doesn't survive a reboot. Is there a way to automate the change in file permissions at boot so I don't have to run that command in a terminal after every reboot?

Thanks,

Jeff
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:12 pm

Piece of cake
Edit rc.local
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/rc.local

Add the code snippet without sudo before exit 0
That's it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby kwisher on Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:53 pm

If you look at my last post you will find the solution to your problem and it will survive a reboot.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:43 pm

Ouch - there were two in this topic
Anyway with the camera connected.....
It's a bit odd to chmod at every boot but I suspected the device disappearing and reappearing would make it a new device each time - did not consider "error handling" though - what happens if the device is not there?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby kwisher on Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:07 pm

Husse,

I believe I was wrong in my previous post about the permissions command surviving a reboot. The /dev/raw1394 device file does not remain after a reboot. It is created "on demand".

Do you think that if the file was manually created and given the correct permissions that this would correct this problem?
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby Husse on Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:11 am

File - I thought it was a folder
It might work - but I'm not sure what will happen if the folder is there already when you insert a firewire device....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby kwisher on Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:14 am

It is a file in the /dev folder. I think this might be a bug because this problem was not present in Mint-5. You still had to issue the permissions command but the raw1394 file was a permanent fixture and would survive a reboot.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: IEEE 1394 Subsystem Not Responding

Postby Husse on Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:28 pm

Damn - I must slow down - I know I must, but...
Of course it is a file - we are talking of the /dev folder - I was thinking of the /media folder
I must slow down :) I apologize ...
One possibility would be to use fstab to mount it, something like this
Code: Select all
/dev/raw1394       /media/firewire   ext3 user,noauto 0       0

This is provided the filesystem is ext3 - if not change to the system used
Add to /etc/fstab as the last entry
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/fstab

With the user option anyone (the user) can mount it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jedinovice and 16 guests