Creative X-Fi Fatality working 5.1 surround w/ ALSA 1.0.20

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Creative X-Fi Fatality working 5.1 surround w/ ALSA 1.0.20

Postby virtuox on Sun Jul 19, 2009 3:57 am

Hello everyone I just installed Linux Mint 7 on my main computer and everything worked perfect except for my sound card.

After a massive search used creative 1.00 driver for basic 2 channel audio support, but of course I was not satisfied and wanted my card to have full capabilities like on Windows 7.

So I updated my ALSA drivers from 1.0.18rc3 to 1.0.20 and rebooted. Upon my reboot only null pulse audio showed up my oss and alsa options had disappeared from volume control. Problem was that it could not recognize/detect my soundcard.

I came on the site and found the test file for the xfile driver "ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/tiwai/snapshot/alsa-driver-unstable-snapshot.tar.gz" so I installed it and rebooted and voila!

Working sound card, so i went ahead into control panel added the other options and unmuted them such as Surround, Side, Center/LFE, and any other playback options and made sure to unmute them and set them to max.

I tested several mkv files with DTS 5.1 audio and ac3 audio and all channels work perfectly after properly configuring audio on SMPlayer.

I have a Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality soundcard. So I just wanted to give a heads up the developers to let them know this driver works well and enables 5.1 surround in linux. I am on Linux Mint 7 (Gloria) x86_64 version.

This unstable-snapshot driver needs testers so I tested it and it works beautifully.
virtuox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 12:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Creative X-Fi Fatality working 5.1 surround w/ ALSA 1.0.20

Postby Husse on Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:06 pm

Thanks for the info
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Creative X-Fi Fatality working 5.1 surround w/ ALSA 1.0.20

Postby jlr1701 on Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:02 pm

Thanks for the great info... but no luck here. I am very much a Linux newbie though when it comes to installing drivers. I followed the directions, but I was unable to edit the kernel module config as apparently neither file suggested exists on Mint (the commands just created empty files), and I have no idea what to put for the modprobe command (snd-WHAT???). And, unfortunately, the alsaconf script isn't available either.

I would love to get this working though. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jeff
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Re: Creative X-Fi Fatality working 5.1 surround w/ ALSA 1.0.20

Postby jlr1701 on Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:58 pm

UPDATE: The sound now works, sort of. My card is the XTreme Gamer Model# SB0770. I still get no bootup system sound, or sound from Gnome Movie Player or VLC. But... I do get sound out of the default movie player. But it hangs and just repeats a loop of sound like it's stuck. Something isn't right somewhere. Must be a conflict of some kind, but I don't know how to fix it.
Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo/i7-3930k/Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM/Nvidia GTX670/Crucial 128GB SSD/Samsung 540GB SSD/ 2 1TB WD hard drives
User avatar
jlr1701
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Anchorage, AK

Re: Creative X-Fi Fatality working 5.1 surround w/ ALSA 1.0.20

Postby drguerra on Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:42 am

Hey, I can't seem to get the driver to work.

Can you give me step by step instructions on this?

I have a fresh install of Mint 7. I'm using the X-Fi XtremeMusic, which is pretty much the same thing as the Fatality.

I have no experience with the terminal, so help me by with a sequence of copy and paste commands, nothing vague like "and then install the program" or "edit the config".

Thanks
drguerra
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:39 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Earendillo, Google Feedfetcher and 8 guests