Mount iPAQ3955?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy on Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:56 pm

Hi All :)

I'm trying to get my old iPAQ3955 mounted so I can transfer files to and from it. Not bothered about syncing anything - just want access to the file system on it. I've googled all kinds of stuff over the last few days (including SynCE which I thought sounded good but I couldn't get to work), but being new to Linux I'm finding it all a bit confusing.

Below is a terminal session I had trying to figure things out. I think it shows the iPAQ connecting on ttyUSB0, but like I said I'm new to this:

Code: Select all
daniel@deadbox ~ $ dmesg | tail
[  717.142961] wlan0: ignored AuthFrame in state ASSOC
[ 2736.903107] wlan0: ignored AuthFrame in state ASSOC
[ 2856.899149] wlan0: ignored AuthFrame in state ASSOC
[ 4772.956056] usb 2-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
[ 4773.106415] usb 2-2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[ 4773.334810] USB Serial support registered for PocketPC PDA
[ 4773.334906] ipaq 2-2:1.0: PocketPC PDA converter detected
[ 4773.337487] usb 2-2: PocketPC PDA converter now attached to ttyUSB0
[ 4773.337537] usbcore: registered new interface driver ipaq
[ 4773.337543] ipaq: v0.5:USB PocketPC PDA driver
daniel@deadbox ~ $ man mount
daniel@deadbox ~ $ mount /dev/ttyUSB0 /mnt/ipaq
mount: only root can do that
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0 /mnt/ipaq
[sudo] password for daniel:
mount: mount point /mnt/ipaq does not exist
daniel@deadbox ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/fstab
^C
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: can't find /dev/ttyUSB0 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mkdir /media/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo rm -r /media/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mkdir /mnt/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $
daniel@deadbox ~ $ modprobe usb-storage
WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/oss-compat, it will be ignored in a future release.
FATAL: Error inserting usb_storage (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/kernel/drivers/usb/storage/usb-storage.ko): Operation not permitted
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo modprobe usb-storage
WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/oss-compat, it will be ignored in a future release.
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo rm -r /mnt/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $


Here's the output from lsusb:

Code: Select all
daniel@deadbox ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 005: ID 046d:c016 Logitech, Inc. M-UV69a/HP M-UV96 Optical Wheel Mouse
Bus 003 Device 004: ID 077b:2219 Linksys WUSB11 V2.6 802.11b Adapter
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 03f0:1016 Hewlett-Packard Jornada 548 / iPAQ HW6515 Pocket PC
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub


I am using Mint 7 Main (Gnome).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Daniel
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One
safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby Husse on Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:50 am

What happened the first time you connected it, before you tried various solutions
It might have opened as a mass storage device
I must say I have no real experience wit an IPAQ even if I have sold them several years ago
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy on Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:23 pm

It didn't seem to register anywhere, although, being new to Linux, I can't say I checked everything. When I mount my Windows drive I get an icon on my desktop, but I got nothing like that for my iPAQ.
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One
safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby Husse on Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:27 am

You should have SynCE installed
Code: Select all
apt install synce-sync-engine

I think this is what's needed - there may be some other apps/libraries you need to install, I think SynCe will tell you that
You could do a apt search synce to find out all that is related
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy on Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:59 am

Looks like I already have it:

Code: Select all
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo apt-get install synce-sync-engine
[sudo] password for daniel:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
synce-sync-engine is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 15 not upgraded.
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One
safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby Husse on Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:18 pm

I don't know how to use it - so I recommend man synce-sync-engine and google
I'll try to help you but I don't own such a device and never have.....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy on Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:03 pm

Thanks for the offer Husse. I spent several days googling, reading the Ubuntu forums and looking over the SynCE wiki, but had no luck. I didn't know about man pages at the time, and hadn't thought about checking those since, so I'll definitely give that a try. A lot of what I read was aimed at more experienced Linux users, so I have a lot of bookmarks saved to come back to once I've figured out some of the more basic stuff. At the moment, I still have a separate Windows disk, so it's not something I'm urgently working on, although i'd like to reclaim the disk-space and ditch Windows when I can.

For the record, I also tried MS ActiveSync (the software I use from Windows for connecting with the iPAQ) running through Wine, but had no joy with that either.
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One
safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests