Sound, but no Sound

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Sound, but no Sound

Postby Organized on Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:38 pm

Hello

Well, first you will think "what the hell? Sound, but no sound?!", but its true: In the Sound-Manager ("Lautstärkeregler" in German) there are the bars that show, that some music is playing, but i have no output. No laptop-speakers and no external speakers are working. All regulators are on full, so normally it has to work!

I have a HDA Intel (i know, it sucks) sound chip with VIA VT1708S Codec.

Anybody got an answer to this problem?

Ciao

P.S. I come from Germany and im still in school, so please forgive for my bad english :)
Organized
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sound, but no Sound

Postby igorzwx on Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:50 pm

Sorry!
What do you mean by this: "I have a HDA Intel (i know, it sucks)"?

In a word, PulseAudio was made in Germany, perhaps (Lennart Pöttering & Co.)
LPC: Linux audio: it's a mess
http://lwn.net/Articles/299093/
http://linuxhaters.blogspot.com/2008/10 ... audio.html
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Sound, but no Sound

Postby Organized on Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:15 pm

igorzwx wrote:What do you mean by this: "I have a HDA Intel (i know, it sucks)"?


Intel is the producer of my soundchip and "HDA" means "High definition Audio". :)
Organized
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:32 pm

Re: Sound, but no Sound

Postby igorzwx on Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:23 pm

If it does not work for you, and works well for others...

EDIT:
EXAMPLE: Intel HD audio (ICH6 family)
http://martinbaselier.wordpress.com/
igorzwx
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:13 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests