Samsung SM-332B problems

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Samsung SM-332B problems

Postby fuzzymonkey on Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:04 pm

I installed linux using the live cd from the Samsung drive and it worked fine. It is the Secondary master IDE drive for this dual boot system. It works fine in Windows but when booting to linux, it seems to always think there is a blank CD in the drive and it appears on the desktop "CD ROM Disk". If I double click that it goes to CD/DVD creator in the file browser. Also in the file browser is "CD ROM 1" but I only have one drive. When selecting that I get a "unable to select mounted volume" error which also says "mount: special device /dev/hdc does not exist" I'm not sure what else to do. I have mint 3.0 with all the available updates installed now. (it didn't work before updating either)
fuzzymonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:01 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:54 pm

I think your /etc/fstab is erroneous
The line for the burner should be
Code: Select all
/dev/hdc        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0

If it's not this post back and we'll dig deeper :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby fuzzymonkey on Sun Jul 01, 2007 8:49 pm

It appears correct
Code: Select all
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
# /dev/hdb1
UUID=235dd809-71c4-49d6-a860-e9473619e8bb /               ext3    defaults,errors=remount-ro 0       1
# /dev/hdb5
UUID=0d530212-7abe-47ce-8a70-f5c1f00d0b0e none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/hdc        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0
/dev/fd0        /media/floppy0  auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0


what now?

PS: If you want we could fix this much faster over IM. PM me if you have some time
fuzzymonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:01 pm

Postby Husse on Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:24 pm

Is that your entire fstab?
Then where is hda and hdb2,3 and 4?
No I don't go to the IM channel any more - I found it disturbing to keep an eye on it
And with the number of questions I answer (like scorp123) in my spare time I decided I don't have the time for it.
Yes I know Clem is there - but he's a monster :) seems to be able to do a thousand things at the same time :)
A somewhat long answer - but others may read :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby fuzzymonkey on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:13 am

Sorry I got impatient waiting for a reply so I went ahead and tried some other distros. Ubuntu gave me the same problem but openSUSE worked so I'm gunna stick with that for a while.
Thanks anyways
fuzzymonkey
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:01 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests