[solved]."i can't sleep on Linux..!".said my screen.

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[solved]."i can't sleep on Linux..!".said my screen.

Postby reaZon on Sat Nov 28, 2009 8:11 am

hi all.
i'm having a small issue here.not with Mint only,but Ubuntu too.
i have LCD 19'' Samsung SyncMaster 943NWX and it is having some kind of insomnia,maybe bad dreams or something :) ,because it doesn't sleep.
this happens after installing the updates & AMD FGLRX propietary drivers.the screen sleeps fine before installing the driver.the screensaver shows after the specified time but the screen won't go down after the specified time.
is there any way to make it sleep without pressing the power button of the screen?.
here's the output from lspci:
Code: Select all
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:05.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:08.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: C-Media Electronics Inc CM8738 (rev 10)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV630 [Radeon HD 2600 Series]
02:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RV630/M76 audio device [Radeon HD 2600 Series]

i've ATI HD-2600 card.thanks.
Last edited by reaZon on Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:21 pm, edited 4 times in total.
reaZon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:48 am
Location: Egypt

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: "i can't sleep on Linux..!".said my screen.

Postby lagagnon on Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:16 am

Menu, Control Center, Look&Feel, Screensaver, Power Management. Did you enter the settings you want there?
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: "i can't sleep on Linux..!".said my screen.

Postby reaZon on Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:59 pm

if you mean the timeouts,then yes.i've done that and i know the screen sleep time is relative to the screensaver time.
reaZon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:48 am
Location: Egypt

Re: "i can't sleep on Linux..!".said my screen.

Postby reaZon on Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:20 pm

solved on Helena.don't know why?.maybe it's a new driver by ATI for Karmic.
.
reaZon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:48 am
Location: Egypt


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests