Ipod Touch 2nd Gen *solved*

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Ipod Touch 2nd Gen *solved*

Postby DiSTuRBeD on Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:01 pm

Hello guys,

I'm kinda please with linux mint 7 & 8, but there are still a lot of hurdles I need to take.

I'll try to tackle them one by one...

Here's one for today... and it's not an easy one I guess.

I know the Iphone & Ipod Touch don't work very well on a linux distro (any of them!)... but still, it would make my gf SO happy if she could use it again after I claimed her windows xp laptop as a "test" system for several linux distro's :-)
When I plug in the Ipod Touch, it gets mounted as a camera and when I click: open Ipod, I go to a link gphoto2://... or something like that. I only see a directory DCIM but not the music files.
Gparted nor the disk utility sees the drive of the Ipod Touch.

Can anyone please give me advice what to do?

Since if I don't have a solution in a short while I'll:
- have a virtualbox vista virtual machine, solely for itunes :s (and I can't get the usb sharing to work with virtualbox either)
- will have to install XP on her laptop yet again, and then she'll complain on how fast linux mint was and how slow XP is :-)

I've tried gtkpod, ifuse, ... but nothing seems to work.

Kind regards & thanks for all the help
DiS
Last edited by DiSTuRBeD on Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
DiSTuRBeD
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:02 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Ipod Touch 2nd Gen

Postby DiSTuRBeD on Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:58 am

No one any clue? Hint? Advice?
DiSTuRBeD
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:02 am

Re: Ipod Touch 2nd Gen *solved*

Postby DiSTuRBeD on Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:09 am

not really solved but temporary workaround:

Install virtualbox 3.0 (not the OSE edition!)
Install a virtual xp, vista on it
Share a folder and usb device with it
Install Itunes

Itunes will now sync with the ipod in the virtual machine

PS, it's even more fancy if you disable your visual effects and use visualbox in a "seamless mode"
DiSTuRBeD
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:02 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ezerhauden, Google Adsense [Bot] and 11 guests