Problem starting computer from sleep

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Problem starting computer from sleep

Postby a2007 on Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:39 pm

Hello Dear Mint Community,

A couple of times already, when I leave my computer in Sleep for more that a couple of hours, when I start up again neither the keyboard nor the touchpad work (the curser's flashing so i know the computer didn't freeze) but i can't input a pass or do anything.....

Any ideas?

Thanks!
a2007
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:49 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:40 am

I'd say that if the computer wakes up from sleep that's remarkable, that it does not is not remarkable.
Anyway to help you (if we can) we need to know more about the computer
Brand, model, chipset, CPU, harddrive etc
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Well, it usually DOES wake up from sleep.

Postby a2007 on Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:00 am

Dell Inspiron e1405

# Intel Core Duo CPU (1.83GHz)
# 14.1" WXGA LCD (1280x800)
# 1GB DDR2 SDRAM
# Intel GMA950 integrated graphics
# 120GB 5400rpm SATA hard drive
#Intel ABG945 wireless

thanks for the help!
a2007
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:49 am

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:15 pm

This is an interesting post - not because of the sleep problems. You have the E1405 that is such a problem child - but you have Intel graphics
Any other problems?
Maybe we can limit E1405 with problems to the ones with ATI
Why it's called the same when it's not the same is something I don't understand
Unfortunately I can't find any relevant information about your problem - not to many hits in Google but only irrelevant ones.I have a Toshiba and an old Compaq laptop to play with
no Dell....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

actually

Postby a2007 on Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:19 pm

this is one of the FEW problems i've had.
everything has worked really well with mint out of the box!

wireless, ntfs w/r, beryl....really, everything!

i guess that's why i'm surprised by these little glitches.

the media controls on the case aren't working (volume does) but i just haven't had the time to scour the forum to find a solution that i'm sure exists.

as for the intel graphics, got 1200x800 res out of the box as well.

i did have a problem mounting a data cd that was burned in windows (i think). worked fine when i rebooted to win xp.

really, a GREAT distro!
a2007
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:49 am

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:32 pm

I say - lucky you
E1405 or E1505 is a real pain in....
Right now I'm a bit confused as to which one is the big problem, but probably 1505. This is what happens to you when you answer lots of posts - it's not even nearly possible to remember all.
I have looked around a bit but nothing of interest was found.
This is one of the hardest problem to diagnose and I'm afraid i can't help you.
I used hibernate (when memory is written to disk and the computer completely turned off - hope that's hibernate, not suspend) in Win XP and I got all sorts of problems so I stopped using it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests