Updating my Nvidia 7900

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Updating my Nvidia 7900

Postby r72rock on Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:59 pm

First off, I wanted to say hi to everyone. :)

I've just recently discovered Mint, and installed it, and I'm happy to be dabbing into Linux. :D

Well, my first major problem just occurred. I was updating my drivers for my Nvidia 7900, and they installed correctly. But now, when I start up my computer, an error message comes up. It basically says that all the power connectors that are available on my video card aren't connected. Which is true. It allows me to run in a low graphics mode which is what I'm on now.
When I was running windows, I never had to have the power connector hooked up to my graphics card, but it still ran fine. I physically cannot hook up another power cable from my power supply to my video card, because my power supply doesn't have any more cables. Is there any way around this, or would I have to bite the bullet and find a way to hook up that cable? Because I'd love to see my desktop in full resolution and hook up my second monitor. :)
r72rock
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Updating my Nvidia 7900

Postby rob2uk on Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:57 pm

I have to ask - is it worth worrying about for the sake of less than £2?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Molex-Two-Way-Power-Splitter/dp/B000ITL4KI

EDIT: Sorry if that came across as rude, it wasn't intended to!
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Updating my Nvidia 7900

Postby r72rock on Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:44 pm

Nah, that wasn't rude. :)

This is what I'd need exactly.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Molex-Express-G ... pd_cp_ce_3

It's not too much money, but it's just am I able to get around it? I guess I'm more curious as to why it'd work on windows, and not on Mint. I guess the drivers just work in two completely different ways.
r72rock
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:33 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests