Some problems

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Some problems

Postby JanG on Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:17 pm

Hey,

After some testing and re-install of Helena my system shows only 3GB memory instead of 4GB.
Also my processor shows 1200Mhz, that shoul'd be 2200Mhz.

Does someone know how to get this right without a re-install again ?

Thanks already
Mint 13, LMDE, Fedora 17, Suse 12.2
JanG
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 3:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Some problems

Postby mick55 on Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:29 pm

Hi Jan

The processor is throttled by default.It will run faster as needed.
If you want it to always run full speed you need to disable the
"on demand" service and then the processor will run in "performance" mode.

Theoretically a 32bit OS cannot address above 3GB RAM.
I had heard that Helena was able to use PAE to get around this limitation.
I use Helena but I only have 2GB RAM so I can't test that myself.

Perhaps someone else has more real world input on that.

cheers
mick

PS
If you want to disable the On demand service
Open terminal and run this command
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install rcconf

Open terminal and run this command
Code: Select all
sudo rcconf

Find ondemand service and disable it.
Reboot PC
The processor will run in "performance" mode.
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)
User avatar
mick55
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Some problems

Postby Rifter on Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:40 pm

I have 4GB and it only sees 3.2GB, i have integrated graphics with 256MB allocated so linux should still see 3.75GB but it doesnt.

My other box running 4GB and discreet graphics with mint 7 64bit sees all 4GB.
Rifter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: Some problems

Postby Aging Technogeek on Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:41 pm

mick55 beat me to the post but there is an easier way to rest your CPU frequency - see 2. below.


1. If you are using the 32 bit version of Helena you will only be able to access about 3.25 Gb of ram. This is standard for 32 bit Operating Systems without the bigmem module ( I think that's the right name).

2. Your computer probably has a system similar to Dell's Speed Step that reduces the CPU clock frequency when the system is lightly loaded in order to reduce power usage and CPU heating. Since you know the CPU frequency, I assume you have the CPU Frequency Scaling Monitor installed on your panel. (If you don't, right click on the panel, choose "Add to Panel", select CPU Frequency Scaling Monitor, and click Add.)

Left click on the icon and a drop down menu will appear. You can select whatever operating mode you wish. (If you have a multi-core processor, you will need a monitor for each core. Right click on the monitor to set it to a specific core.)
Image

Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Some problems

Postby JanG on Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:44 pm

Thanks, both good advises. My CPU now shows 2200Mhz.

Still the memory only 3GB.
If i remember well it was ok with a prevorious install of the 32 bit version... (?)

Hmz, maby it was the 64 bit after all :?
Mint 13, LMDE, Fedora 17, Suse 12.2
JanG
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 3:58 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests