volume control knob

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

volume control knob

Postby freedomphon on Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:59 pm

i have a toshiba laptop with a manual volume control knob on the side. for some reason it just stopped working. any ideas?

mint 2.6.20-16-generic
freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:38 am

Welcome to Mint freedomphon

manual volume control knob on the side.

This is hardware - nothing to do with software.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby freedomphon on Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:37 am

negative it has something to do with software. i have another profile on my laptop and the control knob works fine. in the one profile the control window comes up when i try to use the knob but it only show the sound as mute.
freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

Postby Husse on Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:57 pm

This is interesting. On my wifes Toshiba satellite the volume knob is hardware only as far as I know.
Can you tell me the model as exactly as possible. I think it's to hard (impossible) to find information from Toshiba about this but maybe someone else has the problem and uncle google knows about it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby freedomphon on Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:10 pm

sure thing.

i have a toshiba satelite u205-s5067 PN: PLUA0U-0CK042.
freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

Postby Husse on Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:46 am

Sorry I did not find any information to help us with this.
I found a remark that suggested it is hardware only, that's about it. Toshiba's site was no help - all I could find out is that there is a knob.
You have another profile, you write. Profile - meaning what?
How does it work there?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby freedomphon on Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:59 am

i had another user account and it worked fine from there. however i fixed this issue by just reinstalling mint and now everything kinda works.
freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mark Phelps, Mik3e, ranger077, Valens and 18 guests