Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby JosBR on Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:33 am

Hi,

Linux Mint Helena.

Here is part of the output of lshw command executed in the terminal:


*-memory
description: System Memory
physical id: 15
slot: System board or motherboard
size: 4GiB
*-bank:0
description: SODIMM DDR2 Synchronous 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
product: NT2GT64U8HD0BN-AD
vendor: 7F7F7F0B00000000
physical id: 0
serial: 4412295A
slot: DIMM_A
size: 2GiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 800MHz (1.2ns)
*-bank:1
description: SODIMM DDR2 Synchronous 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
product: NT2GT64U8HD0BN-AD
vendor: 7F7F7F0B00000000
physical id: 1
serial: 5E122957
slot: DIMM_B
size: 2GiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 800MHz (1.2ns)

Here is what is stated by Memory System Information under "System Information" System profiler and Benchmark.

-Memory-
Total Memory : 3061884 kB
Free Memory : 1522000 kB
Buffers : 188692 kB
Cached : 740300 kB
Cached Swap : 0 kB
Active : 949272 kB
Inactive : 474940 kB
Active(anon) : 518976 kB
Inactive(anon) : 16 kB
Active(file) : 430296 kB
Inactive(file) : 474924 kB
Unevictable : 0 kB
Mlocked : 0 kB
High Memory : 2200840 kB
Free High Memory : 949716 kB
Low Memory : 861044 kB
Free Low Memory : 572284 kB
Virtual Memory : 8964228 kB
Free Virtual Memory : 8964228 kB
Dirty : 64 kB
Writeback : 0 kB
AnonPages : 495216 kB
Mapped : 197312 kB
Slab : 49492 kB
SReclaimable : 36760 kB
SUnreclaim : 12732 kB
PageTables : 7040 kB
NFS_Unstable : 0 kB
Bounce : 0 kB
WritebackTmp : 0 kB
CommitLimit : 10495168 kB
Committed_AS : 1730496 kB
VmallocTotal : 122880 kB
VmallocUsed : 41104 kB
VmallocChunk : 78044 kB
HugePages_Total : 0
HugePages_Free : 0
HugePages_Rsvd : 0
HugePages_Surp : 0
Hugepagesize : 4096 kB
DirectMap4k : 12280 kB
DirectMap4M : 897024 kB

Notice the difference in Total memory in bold( 3Gig versus 4Gig).

Why is the difference there?

Thanks for any help.
Jos B. Rikhof
JosBR
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:12 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby holastickboy on Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:39 am

I'm assuming you are running a 32bit version of Linux Mint, which can only address 3gb (the linux kernel will consume the other 1gb). If you want to take advantage of the FULL 4gb, without taking any performance hit by using PAE, then install the 64 bit version of Linux Mint. The same thing will be present if you install windows.
Looking to hold a LAN Party but can't think of what games to play? Discover new games for your next LAN Party at:
http://lanpartymania.com
holastickboy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby emorrp1 on Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:03 am

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=27775
the extra 1G is not used by the kernel, but mainly by the graphics card.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby JosBR on Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:41 am

Thank you for explaining the issue.
I know now that Dell did not pull my leg.

Can I update the 32bit to 64bit Helena version?
I do not want to install the 64bit from scratch. My 32 bit is working fine. It took me weeks to get all the things ( Evolution, doc transfer, Apache, MySQL PHP, etc.) to work.

Thanks again.
Jos B. Rikhof
JosBR
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:12 pm

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby emorrp1 on Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:16 am

no, every single app would need replacing with the 64bit version, so you should just do a fresh install when you're ready. Be honest though, will you actually need that extra 1G RAM?
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby holastickboy on Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:36 pm

Well if you have it, you might as well use it. You may not need 4 cores on a processor, but its nice to use them. If you are doing lots of video editing, or massive image editing, I definitely recommend 64 bit. I have been running the 64bit version of Linux Mint 8, and have had no problems. Flash, video codecs, and applications in general have been fine (with the exception of adobe air). Here is the download information about the 64 bit version if you choose: http://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=46
Looking to hold a LAN Party but can't think of what games to play? Discover new games for your next LAN Party at:
http://lanpartymania.com
holastickboy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby Fred on Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:15 pm

I hate to be the one to break the news to you guys, but you are just playing a numbers game. Memory wise, it makes no difference whether you are using the 32 bit version or the 64 bit version. The 4th Gig of memory is either unusable or buys you nothing.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=27775&p=221399&hilit=Fred+deal#p221399

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby JosBR on Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:36 am

Thank you all for the useful reactions.

As a conclusion, for the time being: "never clean a (nice) running machine".
I am very content with my Helena. I take her the way she is. She does not have to be a superstar........yet. :wink:

I came over from Windows (XP sp3) in Sept 09, tried OpenSuse 11.2, stepped over to Helena and I am very enthusiastic about this Linux version, which installed without problems on a brand new Dell.

Kudos for the developers!

My best,
Jos B. Rikhof
JosBR
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:12 pm

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby Locuust on Wed Dec 30, 2009 7:36 am

Thanks, emorrp1, I followed that rabbit hole of a link and now I'm reliving the nightmares of the DOS era. :P

Qemm, 386Max, Memmaker, etc.
Stacker hard drive compression..
Device=c:\dos\himem.sys /loadhigh (something like that)
Dos Protected mode extenders
EMS and Extended memory

But what all made it worth it was ANSI escape codes in your prompt definition so your prompt was in pretty colors :P Ah the things I did out of boredom.

Lol.. and before the Net was mainstream I even briefly ran a BBS using WWIV on top of deskview (I think that was the name) which was a decent attempt at multi-tasking in DOS.

lol I remember watching my first guest logon to the board. A guy with the screen name superman - he was running at 300 baud :P

I remember salivating over the idea of having 16 meg of memory or having an Amiga which was supposed to have far better multitasking for that day and age. Of course somewhere in there I did try loading a linux distro but I think I gave up when I really couldn't find any help and I didn't really have the memory to run X anyway.

Of course I remember upgrading to 768k of memory from the 512k that came pre installed in my Tandy 1000 Ex. What's a hard drive? Please insert disk 10.

CGA/EGA graphics ftw - moving from 4 colors to 16 colors was exciting :P and VGA? 256 colors?!

God I feel like an old man..

wait.. I *am* an old man.
Locuust
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:54 pm

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby Fred on Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:34 pm

Locuust,

I too like old just fine. Especially when you consider the alternative.

I remember the first time I really began to feel old. It was when my first granddaughter was born. Surely I wasn't old enough to have grandchildren. But that feeling passed quickly. Grandchildren have a way of making everything ok. The hardest part was getting used to the idea of sleeping with someones grandmother. That took a little longer. :-)

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby MysticGold04 on Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:47 pm

Wow! those were the days! I remember them! Things have really come a long way since then... lol!



Locuust wrote:Thanks, emorrp1, I followed that rabbit hole of a link and now I'm reliving the nightmares of the DOS era. :P

Qemm, 386Max, Memmaker, etc.
Stacker hard drive compression..
Device=c:\dos\himem.sys /loadhigh (something like that)
Dos Protected mode extenders
EMS and Extended memory

But what all made it worth it was ANSI escape codes in your prompt definition so your prompt was in pretty colors :P Ah the things I did out of boredom.

Lol.. and before the Net was mainstream I even briefly ran a BBS using WWIV on top of deskview (I think that was the name) which was a decent attempt at multi-tasking in DOS.

lol I remember watching my first guest logon to the board. A guy with the screen name superman - he was running at 300 baud :P

I remember salivating over the idea of having 16 meg of memory or having an Amiga which was supposed to have far better multitasking for that day and age. Of course somewhere in there I did try loading a linux distro but I think I gave up when I really couldn't find any help and I didn't really have the memory to run X anyway.

Of course I remember upgrading to 768k of memory from the 512k that came pre installed in my Tandy 1000 Ex. What's a hard drive? Please insert disk 10.

CGA/EGA graphics ftw - moving from 4 colors to 16 colors was exciting :P and VGA? 256 colors?!

God I feel like an old man..

wait.. I *am* an old man.
http://www.linuxmint.com/img/signatures/donors/1210.png
Acer Aspire 4730Z/4GB/Mint 16 Cinnamon x64
Homebuilt AMD Phenom II 545/4GB/Windoze 7 x64/Pulling HTPC duty
User avatar
MysticGold04
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: USA - CA

Re: Memory 3Gig or 4Gig?

Postby holastickboy on Sat Jan 02, 2010 6:38 am

I was using computers back in the Winodws 3.1 days ( i was less than 10 years old then lol). I'm so glad I dont have to deal with all that DOS stuff. I was using Linux however when installing software was a nightmare, and CD Roms, were really annoying to mount/dismount.
Looking to hold a LAN Party but can't think of what games to play? Discover new games for your next LAN Party at:
http://lanpartymania.com
holastickboy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 2:00 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests