Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:10 pm

Does anyone know how to get this webcam to work in Mint 7? Works ok under the video Test but when I go to a site like Stickam the video is very dark and messed up?
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby Husse on Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:59 pm

Search the forum for QuickCam
There may be a solution, but I have just tried to find a solution for someone else with limited success
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:14 pm

Husse wrote:Search the forum for QuickCam
There may be a solution, but I have just tried to find a solution for someone else with limited success


Let me know if you come across something that works. Tried another webcam and both work fine on windows XPSP3 but when I try to run them on Mint or Ubuntu they don't work...
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:47 pm

Will do - webcams are still a bit tricky, the support is not as good as one would like
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:57 pm

This looks like it's some sort of "flash" problem thus far as I am not getting the allow message from Adobe when I visit Stickcam or Ustream. Sype appears to be fine as I get a video image from my cam but haven't tried a call yet...

Still can't figure this one out???
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby Husse on Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:06 am

I suppose it's a USB cam
Please connect it and run lsusb and post here
lsusb -v only the section for the cam would also be helpful
In case it's really internal run lspci -vvnn and post the section for the cam - only that
We need to know the USB ID, but as I wrote I have just tried to find a solution for someone else with limited success but by now that's all forgotten
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:31 pm

Bus 001 Device 007: ID 1e4e:0100
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 413c:3200 Dell Computer Corp. Mouse
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

This is what I got after running lsusb...
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby Husse on Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:53 am

Was the cam connected?
Or is it an internal cam? Run lspci and see if you find it there
It's strange that it's not in lsusb if it works to an extent and is USB
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:23 pm

Cam is connected, it's an external USB cam not internal.

This is what I got when I ran lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82915G/P/GV/GL/PL/910GL Memory Controller Hub (rev 04)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev d3)
00:1e.2 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FR (ICH6/ICH6R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FW (ICH6/ICH6W) SATA Controller (rev 03)
40:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 01)
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:59 am

lspci was revealing
It's slightly (more than slightly actually) older hardware
There are four USB 1 controllers (UHCI) but only one USB 2 controller (EHCI)
The chances are that the cam is on USB 1 and might benefit from moving to USB 2 (or possibly the other way round, but I really don't think so)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:05 am

How can I see which one the cam is on to try USB 1 & 2 and see if there is a difference?
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby Husse on Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:24 am

Unless it's stated on the computer with a label you have to look in the manual to see which connectors are which
If only one gadget is connected to USB you might see it by switching connectors and
Code: Select all
lsmod | grep ehci

but I doubt it, I don't have ehci or uhci loaded even if USB is in use
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:02 am

Tried all the USB ports with no change. This looks like some sort of flash issue as the status bar on the bottom of Firefox says it's still "Transferring data from..."; after this finishes loading running XP the cam video appears.

Think I will try a different browser like Opera and see what happens.
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby twalace on Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:45 am

Well downloading the Opera web browser didn't help matters, it's doing the same thing. There is something going on that's not allowing the page to finish loading and allowing you to setup the settings under Flash for the mic and video cam.

Hate to give up on Mint but I am thinking about installing XP as I know this already works on another computer... :evil:
twalace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:02 pm

Re: Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000

Postby Husse on Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:48 pm

Could you please explain how flash comes into the picture and what you are doing - I don't follow you there
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests