CRT Monitor with low resolution

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
floortester

CRT Monitor with low resolution

Post by floortester »

Hi,
I am a newcomer to Linux terminal usage as I have not needed it before, I think my problem will be sorted there, looking trough the posts it is difficult to see where the commands are made i.e. in the root directory or in the directory where the programme, if you can find it, resides
I have been using SUSE11 for the last three years with no problems but upgraded to SUSE 11.2 this weekend and after 3 hours reading from the DVDV it ran so slowly it seemed that it had filled the partition with new software.
A friend recommended MINT so I tried it out and it refused to load with an error message " The disc is failing and there are too many errors on the disc to install"
I therefore scrapped the hard disc, put in a new one and installed Mint ver8 Helena from scratch as the only system on the disc.
All worked well except the resolution was set at 640x480, the device configurator downloaded, installed and activated a Nvidia 175.14.20 driver.
However the xserver configuration did not do any better with a CRT monitor only with NO list of monitors, and a maximum resolution of 640x480,
I got no better results running it with gksu as root, I have spent all day looking at "tototester"'s post which echos mine in many ways, and also does not seem to have a quick and easy solution.
my xorg-conf file unlike his only consists of 8 lines and the nvidia -xconfig command is not recognised?
I am writing this on a Windows system as I would not be able to see the screen in MInt, and attachments are a memory stick transfer. I think the maximum resolution would be 1024x768 from my Nvidia 5500 card but the monitor is capable of 1920x1200
Where do I go from here please. :(

Nvidia 5500 Sweet card
ACER Al2423W Monitor