Questions about Linux Mint

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Questions about Linux Mint

Postby npap on Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:43 am

Hi,
Can anybody explain to me what the following messages mean and how to fix the problem?
Info:
I have installed Kubuntu desktop on Linux Mint Bea.

Neither the Gnome desktop nor the Kde one will start after the splash screen, sometimes. And at times I get an 'OUT OF RANGE' message on the dark screen.

Starting in Rescue mode I get a message like :
Warning, Cannot load black listed ipv6.
In rescue mode I can start the system by typing either the KDM or GDM command.

Once I get the KDE desktop working, this warning message shows up but I can ignore it and go on with no other problems :
INTERNAL ERROR. Failed to initialize HAL.

I would like to stress the fact that this is an experimental installation, in order to see the possibilities of adding KDE or the Kubuntu desktop to BEA and see the associated problems that may appear.
Regards,
npap
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby friedtofu on Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:52 pm

heyah!

" Warning, Cannot load black listed ipv6. " <-- this is INTENTIONAL.... i believe this was blocked so that firefox could use the internet faster...

graphics card?

hm... if you cant really do anything... ctrl + alt + f1

login, "sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg"

(kde works great for me... i install via "sudo apt-get install kde-core" ... i use xfce atm....)

((so mint worked for you before you installed kde?))
friedtofu
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:36 pm

Questions about Linux Mint

Postby npap on Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:16 am

Hello friedtofu. Happy Holidays to you,

Thanks for your quick response to my request for help. I will try what you have suggested.
Regards
npap
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Questions about Linux Mint

Postby npap on Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:29 am

Thanks friedtofu,
You hit the nail on the head with the ipv6 problem. It finally turned out to be the setting of Faster Fox.
I had it set to Turbo Charged and setting to Optimized seems to have cured my problem, in some way.
It remains to check my graphics card configuration.
The system seemed to work OK before installing the Kubuntu-desktop.
Would it be better to install KDE-core instead?

I had installed just KDE but the screen resolution was too high and there was no way to change it. The System Settings option was missing for some reason. Kubuntu-desktop provided the System Settings console and I could change my screen resolution to a lower setting. Besides, the Kubuntu-desktop gives me the Edgy software.

So, what would be better? Kubuntu or just plain KDE-core?

Thanks again,
npap
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Postby friedtofu on Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:17 pm

Hm, i believe kde-core will be faster because you'll be downloading the K apps yourself...

the only ones that stick out to me that isnt installed by KDE core is... k3b and kaffeine....

well. its your choice... heh... (i dont think i've ever installed kubuntu-desktop, just kde-core) (its also a minimalist installation - and if you want the rest later, you could always just get it via kubuntu-desktop..)

----
ok, i just checked my KDE setup, and yeah... i cant find anything on Screen Resolution.... bleh.... - i believe that it's possible to just use Gnome's screen resolution to do this... if its just KDE, then perhaps kubuntu-desktop is mandatory.
friedtofu
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:36 pm

Questions about Linux Mint

Postby npap on Thu Dec 28, 2006 7:20 am

Hi friedtofu,
Thanks for your info. So you confirm the fact that a KDE installation doesn't give you the Screen Resolution option. A kubuntu-desktop installation will give you every package included in Kubuntu Edgy and, as a matter of fact, all the packages of Edgy are simultaneously installed on the Mint Bea Gnome desktop.
The most useful one is System Settings. And you can access it by entering 'systemsettings' in the Terminal even when you are on the Gnome desktop (LInux Mint)

Of course, you get a Kubuntu login screen, but that can be changed if you want.
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HaliO and 15 guests