(edited subject) soundcard not functioning on HP laptop

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

(edited subject) soundcard not functioning on HP laptop

Postby Immaculate on Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:00 pm

hi,

i have a problem with burninh a copy of "bea". i downloaded the iso file from the israel mirror, file name is "LinuxMint-2.1.iso", i tried burning it using nero burning rom 6, and i got the next message:

nero 6.3.1.20 wrote:The entered block size does not correspond to the image length.
The block size may be wrong. Do you want to correct the value
or ignore the problem?


naturally i chose "ignore" and then burned the cd. i got a half-burned cd (you can actually see that not all of the cd has been burned on) which does not work. then i tried again and chose "correct" but nothing helped, i still get that message

do i need to use another burning prgoram? or try downloading from a different mirror?

thanks for the help and happy holidays!
Last edited by Immaculate on Mon Jan 01, 2007 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby rlozano on Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:47 pm

immaculate, i suggest you try to download a new iso. it seems that your initial download was not completed properly.

i also suggest that before you burn the cd, kindly double check the chksum which you can find at the home page of linuxmint.

hope this helps.
User avatar
rlozano
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:57 am

Postby Immaculate on Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:05 am

ok, after posting the message i noticed that the file was under 200MB, so i guess you are right, the file was corrupt.

i just have one more question, what do you mean by "double check the chksum which you can find at the home page of linuxmint" - what is the checksum? and where can i find it on the home page? and how do i check it?

thanks a lot
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:45 am

Welcome Immaculate,

This is what you need to do to get a bootable Minty CD.

1. Download Iso from the links her

http://lt.k1011.nutime.de/download.html

2. Make note of the MD5Sum on the above page.

MD5Sum: f57c1935b04546ced05f4e8b3d6fdea8

3. Obtain a copy of Winmd5um from here. If you run a windows box.

http://www.nullriver.com/index/products/winmd5sum

4. Read Docs to learn howto operate WinMD5Sum

5. Check Mint Iso checksum.

6. If everything checks out then burn disk image in Nero or similar app.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Immaculate on Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:58 am

thanks a lot!

hope everything will go well with the installation.

i am about to install linux mint on my laptop with a dual-boot configuration (along side winXP). is there any imprtant information that i need to know prior to installing? i know how to do it, just maybe there are some "tweaks" or tricks that are not common-knowledge which could prove usefull?
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:01 am

Just go for it, and good luck, see you back here in 30 minutes on your Linux rig. :D
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Immaculate on Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:22 am

:D no problem... after i install i'll tell you how long it took... anything less then 3 hours and several breakdowns will be an improvement in regard to what i am used to... (first time linux user!)
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby Immaculate on Wed Dec 27, 2006 6:35 pm

hi again... i'm experiencing some problems... i downloaded and burned the cd, and checked the checksum before doing so, and when i inserted the cd and rebooted i got the following message after rebooting:

Code: Select all
isolinux 3.11 debian-2006-03-16 copyright (c) 1994-2005 H. Peter Anvin
Loading...isolinux: Disk error 10, AX = 4200, drive EF

Boot failed: press a key to retry...


it looks as if i was just un lucky with the burning process... should i try burning a fresh cd from the same downloaded file? (i got no warning messages from the nero this time)

thanks for the help
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:35 pm

So long as the Md5sum is correct, the integrity of the download will be ok. Try burning at a SLOW speed.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Immaculate on Thu Dec 28, 2006 7:54 am

the burn was at x4... but i will try again... and see if it works out (maybe the cd is bad?)
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby Immaculate on Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:56 am

ok i burned another copy and it works! so now when i get arround to it i will install the disto. thanks again for the help
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:02 pm

Glad to hear you're getting somewhere. :D
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Immaculate on Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:07 pm

ok, i have installed the distro... very nice indeed and fast installation!

two questions:

i used the programs-add/remove tool to download a printer configuration tool which i used to configure my hp840c printer. when i try to print, i can choose the printer out of the printing window that opens, but then when i send the file to be printed nothing happens, not even an error message. when i double click on the printer icon on the taskbar, i see the printer queue, and it looks as if the printer is printing and everything is ok (in the status filed it reads: "Printing: job-printing"), but nothing is happening...

secondly, i downloaded skype and it works, but i can not use the microphone, it doesn't work.

that's all in the meanwhile... i bet there will be more to come... :P

thanks!
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:37 pm

Well done, regarding the mic issue. Open the mixer by double clicking on the volume icon. Then select edit>preferences, tick microphone and mic boost. Goto switches tab and tick mic boost. Does it work now?

Regarding printing, goto System>Administration>Printing, right click printer and go to properties. Select print a test page, does it print?
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Immaculate on Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:03 pm

i tried sending a test page, and there is no difference. the test page appears in the queue and the first document is still shown as being printed but it really isn't. i tried deleting the queue and sending another test page and it's the same thing all over again.

as for the mic, after clicking edit->preferences there is only "master" "pcm" and "capture", (no "microphone" or "mic boos"), and all of them are already ticked. there is no "switches" tab, and in the "capture" tab, everything is enabled, the volume is at it's max and nothing is muted

after the distro finished installing i updated the software updates that appeared in the taskbar (there was a balloon that said i should update) and after that i restarted, also, maybe you should know that i am running a HP laptop dv6000 and the mic is built-in and the printer is USB and worked fine on windows a few days ago.
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:14 pm

This is edit preferences

Image

And this is mic boost

Image

I also use a laptop mic for skype. What printer did you install,
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Immaculate on Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:28 pm

Image
http://img46.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screenshotiw0.png
as you can see, there is no "switches" tab and the volume control window has only 3 options...

i tried to install HP 840c printer
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:34 pm

Ok looks like you may have to use something like a desk mic, maybe!

Printer wise the HP840c is in the printer database, why did you install a tool with add/remove?
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby Immaculate on Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:38 pm

i installed a tool because there was no printer in the printer menu when i tried to print a pdf document...

about the mic, isn't there any way to use the built in mic?
User avatar
Immaculate
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: Israel

Postby 900i on Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:43 pm

Have you tried doing a skype test call to see if you mic is working?

Did you install the printer by going to System>Administration>Printing
and then double clicking New Printer.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests