webcam mic only?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

webcam mic only?

Postby Destitute on Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:44 pm

Hi
I recently installed Helena and it works great! However, one major problem I have is with the webcam. It works fine with my windows 7 partition. However, in linux, I was using skype. and during a sound test, my mic did not record sound. The webcam and microphone are build into my Asus EEE 1005HA-MU17-BK netbook. It can't be a problem with my Linux Skype, because I tried it in Cheese too, and no sound was recorded

Thanks
Destitute
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:07 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: webcam mic only?

Postby beefstu on Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:58 pm

Goto sound In the menu and goto the input tab and see if your microphone is selected. Just play with the setting on that and the hardware tab until the input tab shows a level when you make a noise.
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.
User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: webcam mic only?

Postby Destitute on Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:14 pm

I tried, it only gives me one device to select (it was already selected as well) and playing with the amplification bar in the input and hardware still did not move the bar at all

Also, is there any specific name that might appear for the device name if they were referring to my mic? It says Internal Audio Analog Stereo as my input device
Destitute
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:07 pm

Re: webcam mic only?

Postby beefstu on Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:29 am

Hi, on my laptop, the hardware tab has Analogue Stereo Duplex selected on the profile list, and the input tab has Internal Audio Analogue Stereo.
Please go through the steps here when posting a question. Once your question has been resolved, edit the original question post and add [Solved] to the subject. Both of these will help others use the forum effectively.
User avatar
beefstu
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Southampton, UK


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 19 guests