Another Laptop without Sound.

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Another Laptop without Sound.

Postby Anthony on Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:41 am

Good Evening.

First off what a great distro, I am in love. I have a Gateway MT6452 Laptop, I have installed Cassandra KDE 3.0 Community Edition. Everything seems to be working fine except the sound. Oddly enough running this in Live mode off the DVD my sound worked. After I have installed this it now does not.

I have spent the last few hours here on the forums testing different hints and suggestions but I have not had any luck. Here are different outputs.

Sound Driver 3.8.1a-980796 (ALSA v1.0.14rc1 emulation code)
Kernel: Linux laptop-laptop 2.6.20-16-generic #2 SMP
Config options: 0
Installed drivers:
Type 10: ALSA emulation
Card config:
HDA ATI SB at 0xc0000000 irq 17
Audio devies:
0: STAC92xx Analog (Duplex)
Synth devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG
Midi devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG
Timers:
31: system timer
Mixers:
0: SigmaTel STAC9250

Output: sudo asoundconf list
Names of available sound cards:
SB

Output: aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Output: lspci
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SB450 HDA Audio (rev 01)

cat /proc/asound/modules
0 snd_hda_intel

Any ideas would be welcomed.

Thank you very much,

Anthony
Anthony
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 02, 2007 6:28 am

I see that modem is listed as subdevice to the STAC92xx
Try to turn on the modem
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Anthony on Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:10 pm

Please forgive my ignorance but how? A quick search here and at Google did not seem to answer me.

Sorry to sound so dumb.. "Have not had a modem in my pc now for years."

Thanks,

Anthony
Anthony
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:23 am

Postby Boo on Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:38 pm

in a similar post i have seen the modem and sound card are linked.
so when the modem is disabled in the bios the sound card did not work.
when the modem was enabled in the bios the sound card worked again.

well i think it was the bios but it may have been disabled in the OS.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Anthony on Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:14 pm

Well no difference. I tried for giggles pop'd in the live DVD again and the sound works.
Anymore ideas?

Thanks so much for the help.

Anthony
Anthony
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:23 am

Postby Boo on Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:50 pm

I see you have you done an update.

Does the sound work when you boot to the original kernel?
at boot hit esc to see the grub boot menu, arrow down to the original kernel and hit enter.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby ronnil on Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:46 pm

I have a similar problem

booting in generic 15 doesn't solve it

I tried the same commands with this output
Code: Select all
ronnil@ronnil-laptop:~$ sudo asoundconf list
Password:
Names of available sound cards:
ICH6
ronnil@ronnil-laptop:~$ aplay -I
aplay: playbackv:2295: You need to specify 1 files
ronnil@ronnil-laptop:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH6]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel ICH6 - IEC958]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
ronnil@ronnil-laptop:~$ cat /proc/asound/modules
 0 snd_intel8x0
ronnil@ronnil-laptop:~$


My soundcard is a SoundMax AC'97 16bit, or so the specs say :)

My laptop does have a modem attached, but I have no idea how to switch it off (can't access any BIOS for some reason)

I am new to linux, but i must say that this sound thing seems the most difficult to start with, lots of hits but nothing remotely noob friendly :P
ronnil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:50 am

Postby Anthony on Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:56 pm

Thanks for me booting the 2.6.20-15 kernel worked. :-) I have sound again.

Ronnil, did the sound ever work? Like from the DVD Live Disk?

Thanks for the help.

Anthony
Anthony
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:23 am

Postby ronnil on Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:25 pm

Nope haven't had any sound ever... actually at start i just thought linux started up without that annoying startup sound.

I then discovered there was no sound at all, but wanted to get my USB mouse working properly first (which i got this morning thanks to Boo :))

So now I'm in to getting my sound working (and xchat... but that's another topic :))
ronnil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:50 am

Postby Boo on Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:41 pm

try booting the old kernel with irqpoll as a boot option.

you could test this with the live CD first and check if the sound works with it.

or I think under sound settings try using alsa and then oss sound. one may work and the other not.

just guessing now.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby nick on Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:38 am

Hi

Have you tried:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449

Comprehensive Sound Problem Solutions Guide


Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby ronnil on Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:39 am

@Boo: Didn't work :(


@Nick: Gonna check it out, and report back :)
ronnil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:50 am

Postby ronnil on Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:04 pm

Got it working with alsamixer. :D

thanks a lot :)
ronnil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LateJunction and 15 guests