Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 - Mint 9

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 - Mint 9

Postby smac on Fri Jun 25, 2010 6:05 pm

I am having issues with this camera on Mint 9 main.
It's being detected OK, but testing using Skype and GUVCVIEW gives me a good solid 4.5 frames per second - unusable. This does not vary if resolution and other settings are changed, so I do not believe it's a hardware performance issue (this system plays HD video no problem) . It's like I've hit some invisible ceiling. I have searched and searched, but almost everything I have found is either out of date, or relates to the camera not working at all.

lsmod |grep vide gives:

Code: Select all
uvcvideo               56990  0
videodev               34361  1 uvcvideo
v4l1_compat            13251  2 uvcvideo,videodev


lspci gives:
Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Host Bridge (rev b1)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
00:03.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 LPC Bridge (rev b2)
00:03.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
00:03.2 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP79 SMBus (rev b1)
00:03.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Memory Controller (rev b1)
00:03.5 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Co-processor (rev b1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev b1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev b1)
00:06.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev b1)
00:06.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev b1)
00:08.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP79 High Definition Audio (rev b1)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Bridge (rev b1)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Ethernet (rev b1)
00:0b.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP79 SATA Controller (rev b1)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
00:17.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
00:18.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation ION VGA (rev b1)
04:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)


lsusb gives:
Code: Select all
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0d3d:0028 Tangtop Technology Co., Ltd
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 04b4:6560 Cypress Semiconductor Corp. CY7C65640 USB-2.0 "TetraHub"
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 046d:0990 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


I am assuming some sort of driver/configuration issue, but that's a big fat uninformed assumption on my part and I have no idea where to start looking :(
Thanks in advance
smac
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:49 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 - Mint 9

Postby JasonLG on Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:11 pm

It's not a driver issue or hardware issue per-say. I have a Logitech MP webcam and have had similar experiences. Webcams(al least Logitech webcams) require A LOT of light with the default settings to get usable frame rates. You'll have to either point a lamp at yourself from behind the webcam or tweak the gain and exposure settings.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.
JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA

Re: Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 - Mint 9

Postby smac on Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:31 pm

ahh! Progress......thanks so much.

Boosted the room light, started fiddling, and finally get that frame rate to budge.

OK, slight deviation, but I'm not sure I understand where I should be setting up these....settings. If I run guvcview I have all the normal settings, but I'm not sure these settings are being used if I switch to skype (which is what I would normally use for cam). I have no such settings in the skype video settings.....should i??
smac
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:49 pm

Re: Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 - Mint 9

Postby JasonLG on Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:59 pm

smac wrote:ahh! Progress......thanks so much.

Boosted the room light, started fiddling, and finally get that frame rate to budge.

OK, slight deviation, but I'm not sure I understand where I should be setting up these....settings. If I run guvcview I have all the normal settings, but I'm not sure these settings are being used if I switch to skype (which is what I would normally use for cam). I have no such settings in the skype video settings.....should i??


I'm not sure where those settings would be in Skype as I don't use it.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.
JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Cattleman, harlekein, nieldaddy and 18 guests