Floppy Problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Floppy Problem

Postby cicciopanza123 on Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:45 pm

hi to all ,
i have installed linux mint 3 xfce on an old machine
and i found a problem with floppy : i click on the icon it starts and read floppy
but im unable to unmount it when i click on unmount feature with right mouse click menu got a error message : umount /media/floppy0 is not mounted (for mtab) what i should do ? i post here my fstab


/dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/hdb /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0

and i can find voice floppy when mounted in mtab

thank you in advance for help
cicciopanza123
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:14 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Tue Sep 11, 2007 5:32 am

voice floppy
huh?
Can you read more than one floppy - put one in and read and put the next in...
Floppy is an outdated media, try to use something else because shortly there will not be hardware support in any new equipment
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby cicciopanza123 on Tue Sep 11, 2007 5:46 am

Hello Husse
thx for your answer i see now i have mistype a word
this is the problem....
i start up computer, i click on the desktop icon floppy (with one disk inserted)
and i see the content ...if i change floppy i see the content of first floppy
and this is ok as much as i know....
when i try to unmount with right click on floppy icon or send from command line....come an error umount : impossible unmount because mtab say it's not mounted fstab is right always as much as i know..
what could it be ?
i think it may be permission wrong but i don't know the right thing to do tocheck if is that...

after i turn off computer or restart ..... the floppy is unmounted without any error... and at the first insertion error remain the same....

thx in advance for you kindness and help ....
cicciopanza123
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:14 am

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 12, 2007 6:50 am

The fstab line for your floppy is correct
mtab is a file that lists what's mounted in your system and cannot be changed by the user. It is changed dynamically
Unmount the floppy before you remove it
remember - the command to unmount is
Code: Select all
umount

but you should be able to do it by right clicking "floppy0"
If not unmounted the content is still in memory and the system is unaware of any change when you insert a new floppy

Post edited
Last edited by Husse on Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Stretch on Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:31 pm

My fstab shows this before mounting:
Code: Select all
/dev/fd0        /media/floppy0  auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0



and then shows this after I mount the floppy:

Code: Select all
/dev/fd0 on /media/floppy0 type vfat (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,user=borat)


Hope this is of some help to you.[/quote]
User avatar
Stretch
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:32 am

after mount - you show mtab, don't you? fstab does not change

and unmounting is to take place before the floppy is removed or you get the error. If it's removed it's not in mtab, neither an empty drive or the next floppy
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Stretch on Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:23 am

You are correct Husse. My mistake. It was mtab.

I really shouldn't post at 12.30am with beer taken :idea:
User avatar
Stretch
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:04 pm

No problems :)
And I should see that I write unmount instead of mount.
Post is now edited as it got rather strange :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests