ntfs ro solved

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

ntfs ro solved

Postby Branta on Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:38 am

The ntfs partitions of the vista system are on /dev/hdb1-7. Mint / is on /dev/hdb11 with /home on /dev/hdb13.

all ntfs partitions are rw BUT the one that contains the database info I need. It is ro.

How do I change it to rw?

I used NTFS Configuration Tool to enable write support for an external drive but the ntfs drive remained ro.

--- Bob ---
Branta
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:00 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:38 pm

Please give us more information
Which version do you use?
If earlier than Daryna beta do you let mintDisk mount the disks?
Does not hurt if you posted your fstab
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Branta on Mon Nov 05, 2007 7:04 pm

Using Linux Mint 3.1Celena.

I used all the defaults on the install. One suggested I use MintDisk and I said "yes."

I don't know how to "attach" a file to this post, seeing none I put code tags around it.

I have these operating systems:
    /dev/hda3 / PCLinusOS
    /dev/hdb11 / Linux Mint
    /dev/hdb8 / SAM Linux
    /dev/hdb1 Vista )drive C)

/boot/grub/menu.lst duplicates selections, NOT all of which work BUT a selection works for all the above systems. It is visually messy though.
Code: Select all
## fstab created by Livecd-install

none   /proc   proc   defaults   0 0
none   /dev/pts   devpts   mode=0620   0 0
none   /proc/bus/usb   usbfs   defaults   0 0

# /dev/hda1, size=1991997, type=130: Linux swap (primary)
/dev/hda1 swap swap defaults 0 0

# /dev/hda3, size=102398310, type=131: Journalised FS: ext3 (primary)
/dev/hda3   /mnt/hda3   ext3   user,exec,rw,auto   0 0

# /dev/hda5, size=63648081, type=131: Journalised FS: ext3 (extended)
/dev/hda5   /mnt/hda5   ext3   user,exec,rw,auto   0 0

# /dev/hdb1, size=56982492, type=7: NTFS (primary)
/dev/hdb1   /mnt/win_c   ntfs   user,exec,ro,auto,nls=utf8,umask=0   0 0

# /dev/hdb10, size=61432497, type=131: Journalised FS: ext3 (extended)
/dev/hdb10 /home ext3 defaults 1 2

# /dev/hdb11, size=29961162, type=131: Journalised FS: ext3 (extended)
/dev/hdb11   /mnt/hdb11   ext3   user,exec,rw,auto   0 0

# /dev/hdb12, size=2040192, type=130: Linux swap (extended)
/dev/hdb12 swap swap defaults 0 0

# /dev/hdb13, size=51199092, type=131: Journalised FS: ext3 (extended)
/dev/hdb13   /mnt/hdb13   ext3   user,exec,rw,auto   0 0

# /dev/hdb5, size=118816677, type=7: NTFS (extended)
/dev/hdb5   /mnt/win_d   ntfs   user,exec,ro,auto,nls=utf8,umask=0   0 0

# /dev/hdb6, size=102398247, type=7: NTFS (extended)
/dev/hdb6   /mnt/win_e   ntfs   user,exec,ro,auto,nls=utf8,umask=0   0 0

# /dev/hdb7, size=126495747, type=7: NTFS (extended)
/dev/hdb7   /mnt/win_f   ntfs   user,exec,ro,auto,nls=utf8,umask=0   0 0

# /dev/hdb8, size=2168712, type=130: Linux swap (extended)
/dev/hdb8 swap swap defaults 0 0

# /dev/hdb9, size=39214602, type=131: Journalised FS: ext3 (extended)
/dev/hdb9 / ext3 defaults 1 1

# cdrom: MATSHITADVD-RAM SW-9585
#   /dev/hdc   /mnt/cdrom   auto   user,exec,ro,noauto   0 0


--- Bob ---
Branta
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:00 am

Postby Husse on Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:33 pm

That is not the fstab in Mint
I see however that you have a swap as primary - no good....
Please post - copy the content as you've already done - the content of the fstab in Mint and tell us which partition still is ro
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

<SOLVED>

Postby Branta on Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:29 am

DELETE THIS THREAD. Thank You.

I was as messed up as the info I provided in my last post!

I formatted all partitions and installed 4 Linux distro's again and everything works well.

It is easier to install than find the detail....

Thank you for your trouble reading and responding to my last post.


--- Bob ---
Branta
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:00 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests