xrandr trap the mouse

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

xrandr trap the mouse

Postby joe343 on Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:48 am

Hi,

I have a Asus eeePC 1001PX with a maximum screen resolution of 1024x600. I tried using xrandr to scale the screen so I can fit a 1024x768 screen on my display using:

xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --scale 1.00x1.28 --panning 1024x768

The problem is that the mouse is trapped by invisible boundaries at the bottom of the screen. It's like the display is now 1024x768 but the mouse is constrained in the original 1024x600 region - I cannot move the mouse to the bottom of the screen.

Do you have any idea why this is happening?

Thanks.

PS Running Mint 12 (gnome 3)
Last edited by joe343 on Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
joe343
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:45 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: xrandr trap the mouse

Postby nunol on Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:56 am

I found the same thing when running "xrandr --output LVDS1 --scale 1.25x1.28" to compress the screen in Mint 12 and Ubuntu 11.10. It worked in Mint 11...
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: xrandr trap the mouse

Postby StarsLikeDust on Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:39 pm

I have a similar issue on LM 12 not with scaling but just setting the native resolution for my monitor. I used cvt to generate a modeline and then xrandr to add and switch to the new mode.

From glxinfo:
Code: Select all
 OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) 945G x86/MMX/SSE2
I looked around a bit and found that this graphics solution isn't terribly well supported on linux. Any ideas would be appreciated.
StarsLikeDust
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:17 am

Re: xrandr trap the mouse

Postby StarsLikeDust on Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:47 pm

Slight update: I "fixed" this by downgrading. However the problem returned when I installed the latest stable synergy package from the project website, after downgrading that as well things returned to normal.
StarsLikeDust
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:17 am

Re: xrandr trap the mouse

Postby nunol on Sun Jan 22, 2012 5:27 pm

It's a bug: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39949

Has patch for a partial solution, only for panning but not for scaling: http://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/6488/

Arch users have the same problem: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=118999

Hope the bug gets solved...

Edit:
There is a new patch: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/attachment.cgi?id=56408
Mint 12 LXDE has the same problem...
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: xrandr trap the mouse

Postby Johnny Pest on Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:16 pm

Hi,

How do you apply these patches?

Or, how can we switch to a newer or older xrandr version? 1.2 seems to have problems.

Thanks
Johnny Pest
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:49 pm

Re: xrandr trap the mouse

Postby Zenxos on Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:16 pm

I'll move my post elsewhere as this thread seems dead.

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=152634
Zenxos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests