USB External Drive showing twice?--SOLVED

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

USB External Drive showing twice?--SOLVED

Postby g0lrk on Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:54 pm

Using Mint 4 and just noticed so not sure how long it's been there, real observant here!
For some reason my external usb drive, Iomega 120Gig, with 50gig used, is showing twice.
It looks to all intents and purposes as though there are 2 of them?
I can click on either of them and look or move files accordingly.
Why?
Like I say not sure what has happened to cause this but only just noticed it today, so no idea how long it's been like this.
If I unmount one they are both unmounted.
I have to un-hook the usb cable to re-mount it.
Thanks a lot.
Kevin.
Last edited by g0lrk on Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
g0lrk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:43 am
Location: A tiny planet somewhere!

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: USB External Drive showing twice?

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:18 pm

hmm this happened sometimes in earlier versions when both mintDesktop and the Mint ntfs tool showed ntfs disks on the desktop (Oh how fast you forget - I don't remenber what that tool was called ..)
Is it ntfs?
As it seems to be just the disk appearing twice, it's no real problem - more a real annoyance
Let it be till you find the solution
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: USB External Drive showing twice?

Postby BlahBlah_X on Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:09 pm

Does the drive have more than one partition? That would make it show up twice (once for each one).
User avatar
BlahBlah_X
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Walrus Teeth

Re: USB External Drive showing twice?

Postby g0lrk on Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:21 am

Yes it is ntfs, and no there is only one partition on the drive.
And yes you are right Husse it is annoying because it is there!
Still it doesn't detract from using Mint so like you say leave it and what the 'eck!
Thanks to you both for answering anyway, I will leave it open in case anyone else wants to have a 'stab' at it.
Kevin.
p.s.
Failing that I will await the next version and see what happens then?
User avatar
g0lrk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:43 am
Location: A tiny planet somewhere!

Re: USB External Drive showing twice?

Postby Slocker on Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:02 am

I had this issue but it happened to me when I start up the computer and I let the USB external hard drive plugged. Then it show me two icons. But apart from being annoying, you can work just fine. It's a minor bug. So if you are using an USB hard drive, let Mint gets to the login screen and then plug it. I think that'll make the trick.
Alex Slocker
User avatar
Slocker
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:14 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: USB External Drive showing twice?

Postby iironjade on Thu Feb 28, 2008 1:39 pm

It sometimes happens when I put a disc in the dvd drive and sometimes the icon disappears completely: it's as though Mint can't tell them apart. It doesn't actually cause any problems and corrects itself on reboot.
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Re: USB External Drive showing twice?

Postby Slocker on Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:43 pm

I've just remember that when it happened to me, I umount the USB external hard drive and then I think rebooting hal or dbus did the trick. So do either:

Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/hald restart

or:

Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/dbus restart
Alex Slocker
User avatar
Slocker
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:14 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: USB External Drive showing twice?

Postby g0lrk on Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:56 am

I run the command you said Slocker and also I un-plugged the drive, well it's plugged in all the time isn't it.
So I un-mounted it and un-plugged it and plugged it back in and lo and behold there is only one.
Must have just been a glitch somewhere like you say, it didn't bother me it was just 'THERE'.
Anyway I've re-booted and it's working OK now so goodness knows what it was, stupid really.
Thanks to you all anyway.
Kevin.
User avatar
g0lrk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:43 am
Location: A tiny planet somewhere!

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests