Cannot Mount Internal SATA Drive

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
trentreviso

Cannot Mount Internal SATA Drive

Post by trentreviso »

I am a complete newbie.

I just put a new motherboard in an old system with three old SATA hard drives in it. The drives were formatted ext3 under Ubuntu some years ago.

I installed Mint 17 on the SSD drive. The other two drives were working fine. But, I wanted to wipe clean one of the drives and use it only to store music. Mint would not allow me to delete anything because the permissions were created under Ubuntu long ago. No matter what I tried, I could not take ownership of the drive (I tried several tutorials from the web to no avail). So, I formatted the drive with gParted (from within Mint) as ext4, thinking I could wipe it clean that way, and take ownership since I was creating a new drive. I thought I formatted the whole drive. But, after formatting, although all data was wiped clean from the drive, there were still one large and two small partitions. So, I just deleted the two small partitions and expanded the large partition to take up the remaining space.

As soon as I did that, the drive would not mount. It no longer shows up under Menu>Computer, but it does show up under gParted. The drive is 232 GB formatted. Weirdly, gParted reports the drive as having BOTH a 232 GB ext4 extended partition AND as having 232 GB of unallocated space (which is impossible, of course).

I need to know first what I can do to get the drive mounted; and then how I can change ownership so that I can actually use it.

Thank you for your patience.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
trentreviso

Re: Cannot Mount Internal SATA Drive

Post by trentreviso »