[Solved] Problem with stock driver for Ricoh MP C2051

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved] Problem with stock driver for Ricoh MP C2051

Postby elfaure on Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:39 am

Just prints garbage and spools the printer paper tray dry. Test print shows a printed page reading "if you can read this then you are using the wrong driver". The stock driver is the correct driver for this multi-printer but doesn't work. Prints fine to our HP Laserjet 4 though.
Last edited by elfaure on Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
elfaure
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem with stock driver for Ricoh MP C2051

Postby elfaure on Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:43 am

Shameless bump. 25 views and no replies?? Surely someone has interfaced with this MPP and has a solution to get more than machine code garbage as output from the device. Thank God we have an old HP laserjet with an 11x17 tray than Mint can print to raw to tide me over until I resolve this. Since my first post, I also tried two (2) open source print drivers, neither of which worked. Maybe there's some configuration setting on the MPP I need to toggle. I don't think its a permissions issue because I can connect and print, it just prints garbage and says its using the wrong driver. Tried both Ricoh and Gestner drivers.

[Edit] I think I found the solution here

http://www.achanceofbrainshowers.com/bl ... #comment19
User avatar
elfaure
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:18 pm

Re: Problem with stock driver for Ricoh MP C2051

Postby elfaure on Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:40 pm

[Solved] After spooling the printer out of paper with my first test print, I didn't use that test button again and was using another test print button (which just tests the print heads) but the output says "If you can read this then you are using the wrong driver". Well, that message is erroneous and always occurs when using this test print button. So the whole time except for initially, I had the correct drivers installed but was lead to believe they weren't the right drivers from this erroneous message.

Initially I had the PS driver installed but our printer does not have the PS option installed. It was the PXL drivers (all of them: Ricoh, Gestner, Open-printing) that worked.
User avatar
elfaure
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:18 pm


Return to Printers & Scanners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests