Printer setup

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
gwtx

Printer setup

Post by gwtx »

I am new to linux. I am tired of Microslop. I have heard for some time now how linux has become very user friendly to windows converts. I have been "playing" with computers for about 25 years or so, worked with main frames a liitle, even got into fortran a wee bit. But, this linux is very alien to me, especially the terminology, but I am going to try to learn, which at my age is not easy. By the time I get to the end of a sentence, I've forgotten what the subject was.
Enough,,, I have loaded up Mint 13 maya cinnamon. I have most things setup that can be done without the "TERMINAL".
I'm still looking for a list of commands for the terminal, with explanations for each. Now to my problem. I have a Brother MFC 7360N laser printer on my home network, and I can't get it installed. I can talk to it via the address, mint can see it, but when I click "print test page" it changes state from "ready" to "processing", and then to "paused" without printing the page. I went to CUPS, and went thru that setup, all is well until I try to print, then it can't find the printer.
I have read numerous posts simular to my situation, but for the most part I don't understand the solutions well enough to follow through. I need the "newbyest" language possible. The golden years aren't all they are cracked up to be,,,for some of us :) Thanks in advance for any and all help. Gary
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gwtx

Re: Printer setup

Post by gwtx »

I guess linux is not ready for me yet. I'll try again when it gets to be more like windows. aaarrrrggghhh.
Spinnekop

Post by Spinnekop »

Hey Gary - don't give up.
Spinnekop

Post by Spinnekop »