How to connect a Canon ip2600 Printer

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Sandra Brooks

How to connect a Canon ip2600 Printer

Post by Sandra Brooks »

Hello, I am new to the Linux Mint community and was fiddling with the new computer software until I needed to hook-up my old computer's printer to this new one. Previously, I had a Dinosaur of a computer and it was compatible with the Printer, the ip2600 Canon. Now, when I attempt to hook-up my older printer to this newer computer I received the , "Printing complete" portion, but never printed the document. I was wondering if Linux Mint is even compatible with this printer and, if so, what can I do to physically print a document? I know there was an older post on this similar topic but it didn't fully answer the question so I decided to post this to see if I have any luck. Hopefully, I do not need a new printer and maybe I'm over looking something when I try to set it up. Also, I am not sure which Linux Mint I currently operate; I assume it is the newest one. If it makes a major difference I will look to see which update of Linux MInt I am using. Thank you so much in advance for your time and help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Dennis666
Level 1
Level 1

Re: How to connect a Canon ip2600 Printer

Post by Dennis666 »

Hello !

I have same problem with Canon Pxima ip 2200. I downloaded Turboprint there it works but its pay-software. I need a free solution. Because i do not buy a driver for old printer. Has someone any ideas ?
pdc_2
Level 10
Level 10

Post by pdc_2 »

Hi Sandra; so the ip2600 is a 5yr old printer;

Canon provide drivers in the Debian format for this ip2600; (Mint is from ubuntu, that uses debian packages...........)