Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:45 pm

Hello all! I am very new to linux, and this was my first install of it. I am sorry if I am not able to provide adequate details on this subject, as I said, I am a noob to the whole Linux thing. When I go to install Broadcom STA Driver from additional drivers a pop up apears saying,
"Sorry, installation of this driver failed. Please have a look at the log file for details: /var/log/jockey.log"
I do not know what this means and I do not know how to begin fixing it. If it helps I have a old poopy Dell XPS M1330 Red.

Many thanks to all that help

-sig552man-
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:31 pm

Open a terminal and post the result of this:
Code: Select all
lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:37 pm

Alright, here are the results.
09:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5906M Fast Ethernet PCI Express [14e4:1713] (rev 02)
Subsystem: Dell XPS M1330 [1028:0209]
Kernel driver in use: tg3
--
0c:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n [14e4:4328] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1500 Draft 802.11n WLAN Mini-card [1028:000a]
Kernel modules: ssb
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:44 pm

Your device would be better with the driver you were trying to install. So lets see the log
Make sure the terminal setting is unlimited scrollback

Code: Select all
cat /var/log/jockey.log

If necessary use a pastebin

FYI: It's wise if you can get your system completely updated before installing this driver
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:54 pm

Alright I updated everything. But I feel like such a noob, what is a pastebin exactly?
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:10 am

http://pastebin.com/

I wasn't sure how long the output would be so I gave that as an option if it was massive
It's probably not.

You can use your file manager to go to /var/log
Find the file: jockey.log

paste the content here in code tags
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:18 am

Alright, I belive this is it. Here is the pastebin link http://pastebin.com/s9RBCcpP
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:27 am

OK
See if you can download and install this
http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/r ... 1_i386.deb
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:30 am

I installed it, and I believe it all went acording to plan, no error messages showed up, Where should I go from here?

EDIT: Nevermind, I see that fixed my problem. Plus one to you good sir. Many thanks. :D
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:32 am

No worries
Enjoy
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:14 pm

Actually, I am having problems now getting wireless to connect. I do go about it through the Network application correct? When I do it just does not seem to do anything. Help would be appreciated or maybe a link to a guide of some sort, google results pull up nothing. Many thanks again!
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:01 am

sig552man wrote:Actually, I am having problems now getting wireless to connect. I do go about it through the Network application correct? When I do it just does not seem to do anything. Help would be appreciated or maybe a link to a guide of some sort, google results pull up nothing. Many thanks again!

Does the additional drivers section register it as installed?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:06 am

It does and it also states it is in use.
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:26 am

sig552man wrote:It does and it also states it is in use.


I'm not too sure then..
You could do with a networking guru, and I'm not one.

I can tell you though, that your device doesn't look the best in the list here: http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43
The b43 driver is only partial, but your not using b43 for that reason, which is why we worked on 'wl'

You are correct in that you should make your connections in the network manager.

I'm wondering about your connection anyway, because remember you had trouble installing the driver and your log showed you were having trouble fetching a package, which I pointed you to

So, in short. I'm not sure.

If it were me, I'd probably try b43. But you may find it tricky switching between the two.
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:32 am

Alright! Thank you I will check that out and see how it goes! Many thanks again!
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:44 am

What you could do is, uninstall the driver you have.

Download this and extract the folder b43
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/b43_firmware/b43.zip
place the folder for now in your /home/username*

Now examine your dir: /lib/firmware
If there is already a folder b43, you need to rename it with:
Code: Select all
cd /lib/firmware

Code: Select all
sudo mv b43 old-b43


Now move the b43 folder you extracted from my .zip
So open a terminal and do
Code: Select all
sudo mv b43 /lib/firmware


That's it
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:28 pm

Before I switch on over, I should have been more detailed on what my problem was, just in case I am missing something painfully obvious. In Network Connections I inputted my information, security key, and such. On the taskbar I will select the Icon, it will connect to my network, It shows its signal strength, but when I go to actually pull up a webpage, it acts like I am not connected at all. Checking my wireless card driver, it does say installed and in use. Is this due to the driver as you pointed out, or something else?
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:18 pm

sig552man wrote:Before I switch on over, I should have been more detailed on what my problem was, just in case I am missing something painfully obvious. In Network Connections I inputted my information, security key, and such. On the taskbar I will select the Icon, it will connect to my network, It shows its signal strength, but when I go to actually pull up a webpage, it acts like I am not connected at all. Checking my wireless card driver, it does say installed and in use. Is this due to the driver as you pointed out, or something else?


OK
So can you login to your router with that wireless connection?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby sig552man on Sun Nov 11, 2012 4:36 pm

I am unable to connect to my router with that connection.
sig552man
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: Broadcom STA Driver not working.

Postby caf4926 on Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:17 am

Does the system let you re-install that driver?

Personally I'd try the switch I mentioned earlier.

Be prepared to spend a few bucks for a USB dongle if this doesn't work
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests