New install no Wi-Fi [SOLVED]

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

New install no Wi-Fi [SOLVED]

Postby Ian Clarke on Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:33 pm

Mint 12 KDE new install on new HDD

Still able to use my old HDD with Mint12 installed but it's time to install new HDD and can't get Wi-Fi working.
I did a fresh install on the new drive and installed the same Wi-Fi drivers that I have been using previously but NM does not locate any Wi-Fi networks at all. Same with WICD, nothing is blocked but a scan finds nothing. I'm having to re-boot into the older HDD to get online to post this although I can use Ethernet.

Will switch over to new installation drive and post some outputs if I can log into this site.
Last edited by Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:56 pm

Output from lspci;

00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (ext gfx port 0)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [IDE mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 5
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 104a (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation HDMI Audio stub (rev a1)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
03:05.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. Device 3062


output from iwconfig;

lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off

Output from ifconfig;

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 54:04:a6:83:33:32
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::5604:a6ff:fe83:3332/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1525 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1448 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1491949 (1.4 MB) TX bytes:204619 (204.6 KB)
Interrupt:42 Base address:0x8000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:880 (880.0 B) TX bytes:880 (880.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 80:1f:02:39:c6:ed
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Output from rfkill list;

0: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no

I'm obviously missing something but don't have a clue where to start, any suggestions greatly appreciated
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:42 pm

Is there something I'm missing here, do you think I'd be better to install Mint 13 ?

One piece of info that is probably relevant but I didn't mention before is that my Wi-Fi adapter is on ra0 and I don't know how to set up my software to point it in that area, I don't know if that's relevant but I thought I should mention it.
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:15 am

Is there any way to determine if this is a driver issue, a Network Manager issue or a Kernel issue or maybe it's a front end issue ? I have been searching Google for answers but getting nowhere.
I have Mint 12 installed on my old HDD with exactly the same Drivers installed and it's working fine. I have not yet installed any graphics drivers on the new HDD setup as I really want to get Wi-Fi working first and don't see how graphics drivers should affect this problem, am I wrong ?

Is there a better way to go about this problem ? Is there a better site for getting answers ? The last couple of issues I have posted on this site hae gone unanswered although they get plenty of views so I'm assuming that I am asking the wrong questions or posting in the wrong sections.

Getting very frustrated, please give me something to work with. :(
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:22 am

Or even Mint 14 kde?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:44 am

caf4926 wrote:Or even Mint 14 kde?


Thanks for the suggestion, I was considering Mint 14 and have set aside a partition for trying it but am familiar with Mint 12 so if I can get the Wi-Fi to work, would like to continue with it for a while at least

On the original installation (old HDD) I tried "iwlist wlan0 scan" and get 'Interface does not support scanning' so I tried "iwlist ra0 scan" and got the following;

ra0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 14:D6:4D:53:36:D7
Protocol:802.11b/g/n
ESSID:"TALKTALK-5336D7"
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality:81/100 Signal level:-58 dBm Noise level:-92 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:65 Mb/s
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: Unknown: DD270050F204104A000110104400010210470010BC329E001DD811B2860114D64D5336D7********** (digits removed for security)
Cell 02 - Address: 4C:17:EB:AC:CC:23
Protocol:802.11b/g/n
ESSID:"SKYCCC22"
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality:81/100 Signal level:-58 dBm Noise level:-92 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:144 Mb/s
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: Unknown: DD760050F204104A0001101044000102103B0001031047001097AEABBA140409EC2129CCBE9E2D4B5C1021000842726F6164636F6D1023000842726F6164636F6D1024000631323334353610420004313233341054000800060050F20400011011000A42726F6164636F6D415010080****0******** (digits removed for security let me know if they are needed)

So I tried "iwlist wlan0 scan" in the new installation and got 'No scan results'

"iwlist ra0 scan" in the new install gave me 'Interface does not support scanning'

very confused :(
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:27 am

Can you get us the output from this
From both the working and non-working installs?

Code: Select all
lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:15 am

caf4926 wrote:Can you get us the output from this
From both the working and non-working installs?

Code: Select all
lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net


This is from the non working install;

lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. P8P67 and other motherboards [1043:8432]
Kernel driver in use: r8169
--
03:05.0 Network controller [0280]: Ralink corp. Device [1814:3062]
Subsystem: Edimax Computer Co. Device [1432:7722]
Kernel driver in use: rt2800pci

I have to log out and back in to the other install, one minute

this is the output from the working install;

02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. P8P67 and other motherboards [1043:8432]
Kernel driver in use: r8169
--
03:05.0 Network controller [0280]: Ralink corp. Device [1814:3062]
Subsystem: Edimax Computer Co. Device [1432:7722]
Kernel driver in use: rt2860
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:26 am

That's odd, the Kernel Drivers in use are different even though I used the same downloaded file, how can I change it ?
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:32 am

OK
So that's odd because your non-working install is using a driver that I have on my eeepc
Code: Select all
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Ralink corp. RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe [1814:3090]
   Subsystem: AzureWave Device [1a3b:1087]
   Kernel driver in use: rt2800pci


rt2800pci is correct for me

But notice the driver number is different in your working install.

*FYI: the pci part is what you should see in kernel 3>

So I'm no expert. But my device works from the live cd. But it's a different device!
Mint 13 and 14 have kernel 3> and work well for me
2.6 kernels worked but somewhat flaky and the driver was different.

So if your wireless isn't working in the live session of Mint 13 or 14
Does it work in the live session of mint 11 or 12? If not, be asking yourself what you did to get it working.
Do you remember installing firmware?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:36 am

Ian Clarke wrote:That's odd, the Kernel Drivers in use are different even though I used the same downloaded file, how can I change it ?


You could try this in the non-working install

Code: Select all
sudo modprobe -rv rt2800pci


Code: Select all
sudo modprobe -v rt2860
BUT it might actually be

Code: Select all
sudo modprobe -v rt2860pci


do you see what I am doing

-rv = remover
-v = insert

notice after BUT I added the pci part which I suspect should be there
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:39 am

The only other thing to check perhaps before that is

Install rfkill and post result of
Code: Select all
rfkill list
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:40 am

No I don't remember installing Firmware but I do remember the main issue was installing the correct drivers but once I had them it was simple to get them working.
I even kept a copy of the instructions as I had to re-install again after a Kernel upgrade;

make clean
make
sudo make install (or just switch to root and run make install)
sudo modprobe rt3562sta (or stay as root and just run modprobe)

I don't get any output from Modprobe but it worked fine before.

Thanks for your input by the way, it's very frustrating trying to work it out on your own.
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:50 am

Output from sudo modprobe -v rt2860 and rt2860pci is; "FATAL: Module rt2860 not found." and "FATAL: Module rt2860pci not found."

No output from rfkill list
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:07 pm

No output from rfkill list


There should be something

try
Code: Select all
sudo rfkill list
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:08 pm

Output from sudo rfkill list;

0: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:11 pm

make clean
make
sudo make install (or just switch to root and run make install)
sudo modprobe rt3562sta (or stay as root and just run modprobe)


So you have the firmware for doing the above?

Might be worth Googling the device you have

03:05.0 Network controller [0280]: Ralink corp. Device [1814:3062]
Subsystem: Edimax Computer Co. Device [1432:7722]
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:13 pm

Have you checked the Additional Drivers in Mint?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby Ian Clarke on Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:17 pm

caf4926 wrote:Have you checked the Additional Drivers in Mint?


Yes it's showing rt3562sta driver is activated and currently in use. This is the correct driver package for this device and it's working fine on the other installation, I'm really confused as to why a different Kernel driver is being used by each installation though, that is obviously part of the problem.
Ian Clarke
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:29 am

Re: New install no Wi-Fi

Postby caf4926 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:20 pm

So try
Code: Select all
sudo modprobe -rv rt2800pci


Code: Select all
sudo modprobe -v rt3562sta
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests