Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby Winterspite on Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:07 pm

Hi all, I've got a new laptop for work (Dell Latitude E6430) that I've dropped Petra on. Everything seems to be working great except for the wireless. I've been searching all over and tried almost everything I can think of, but without much luck.

# uname -an
Linux spite 3.11.0-12-generic #19-Ubuntu SMP Wed Oct 9 16:20:46 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Code: Select all
  # sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py                                                                                                               
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
  -- Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
      ==> PCI ID = 14e4:4727 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
vmnet8    no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=19 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
vmnet1    no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr f0:1f:af:4c:84:bb 
          inet addr:172.31.2.149  Bcast:172.31.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::f21f:afff:fe4c:84bb/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:12494 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:8955 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:13765066 (13.7 MB)  TX bytes:1574656 (1.5 MB)
          Interrupt:20 Memory:f7e00000-f7e20000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:570 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:570 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:54968 (54.9 KB)  TX bytes:54968 (54.9 KB)

vmnet1    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:01 
          inet addr:192.168.107.1  Bcast:192.168.107.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:130 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vmnet8    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:08 
          inet addr:192.168.98.1  Bcast:192.168.98.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:130 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:      127.0.1.1
Address:   127.0.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.8
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.2
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.5
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.3
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.1
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.0
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.4
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.6
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.9
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.7
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.228.14


The wireless card works and sees all of my networks in the area, but won't join:

Code: Select all
 
# wpa_supplicant -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/ComputersAreEvil.conf -i wlan0 -D nl80211                                                                           
wlan0: SME: No scan result available for the network


Code: Select all
  # wpa_supplicant -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/ComputersAreEvil.conf -i wlan0 -D wext                                                               
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
wlan0: Trying to associate with SSID 'ComputersAreEvil'
wlan0: Associated with 98:fc:11:78:4d:19
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=98:fc:11:78:4d:19 reason=0
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
wlan0: Trying to associate with SSID 'ComputersAreEvil'
wlan0: Associated with 98:fc:11:78:4d:19
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=98:fc:11:78:4d:19 reason=0


Right now I'm running with bcmwl-kernel-source_5.100.82.38+bdcom-0ubuntu6_amd64.deb.

I've also tried the following based on my internet searching:
  • bcmwl-kernel-source_5.100.82.112+bdcom-0ubuntu3_amd64.deb
  • bcmwl-kernel-source_6.20.155.1+bdcom-0ubuntu6_amd64.deb
  • bcmwl-kernel-source_6.30.223.141+bdcom-0ubuntu1_amd64.deb

In all cases, I can get the wireless card to load and see networks, it just won't associate. And yea, I know I've got the right network info and passphrase. I've tried with the network connection manager, wicd, and by hand with no difference in luck. Thanks in advance!
Winterspite
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:56 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby gold_finger on Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:48 pm

See here for answer found by someone with same card:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=151623&p=793242#p793242
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby Camera on Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:48 pm

Hallo,

I have been struggling with with the same problem for two weeks already. And the solution is only partial - but maybe it will guide you into the direction to propose the really working one.

In my case bcmwl driver can discover the wifi network, can connect to it - but it is not working (no transfer). When I changed the security settings on the wifi router to WPA-PSK/TKIP (from WPA2-PSK/AES) it can connect and work. The additional problem was, that than my wifi card seemed to interfere with other computers in my family, and started to disconnect my and others in 3 min. intervals.

When I use brcmsmac driver it connects with no problems also when router has WPA2-PSK/AES security settings, and no interference with other computers, but the signal strength is half of that with bcmwl

Unfortunatelly in both cases the max achieved speed of transfer (measured with http://www.speedtest.net) was about half of that reached within Windows7. :-( :-( :-(

So my solution cited by gold_finger is not really the final one.

Looking forward for the new ideas and solutions of this problem

Camera
Camera
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby Winterspite on Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:56 pm

Unfortunately that's not a good solution - I've booted this laptop in Debian and gotten it to connect to my wireless network before, so I know the card is capable of it. That and as a consultant, I can't really ask my customers to change their wireless settings so my laptop can connect to their network. :(
Winterspite
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby Camera on Wed Dec 11, 2013 5:02 pm

Exactly - the card is capable to connect and to transfer at 50Mb/s - but under Mint I am not able to achieve that, and that is quite frustrating, as I have recently changed already completely from Win to Linux (Mint)...
Camera
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby gold_finger on Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:00 am

Winterspite wrote:I've booted this laptop in Debian and gotten it to connect to my wireless network before, so I know the card is capable of it.

Do you still have Debian on the laptop, or have the live DVD? Boot-up with that and then see what driver version it is using and make sure to use the same one in Mint. Would imagine that might solve the problem. If it works, report back so others will know as well.
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby Winterspite on Thu Dec 12, 2013 1:58 pm

gold_finger wrote:
Winterspite wrote:I've booted this laptop in Debian and gotten it to connect to my wireless network before, so I know the card is capable of it.

Do you still have Debian on the laptop, or have the live DVD? Boot-up with that and then see what driver version it is using and make sure to use the same one in Mint. Would imagine that might solve the problem. If it works, report back so others will know as well.


Yep, I used the debian-live-7.2-amd64-xfce-desktop+nonfree.iso Live CD (md5 a9852a7ca39a2683ff15fcbe30931da7). It booted, instantly recognized the card, and joined my wireless network (which is on WPA2/AES) with no issues.

lspci -nn | grep BCM:
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4727] (rev 01)

uname -an
Linux debian 3.2.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.2.51-1 x86_64 GNU/Linux

I've posted the full dmesg output here, but it looks like this is the driver it loaded:
[ 45.151092] wlan0: Broadcom BCM4727 802.11 Hybrid Wireless Controller 5.100.82.112
Winterspite
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby gold_finger on Thu Dec 12, 2013 8:51 pm

Did another search based on Wintersprite's "BCM4727" Debian output and came across something that looks to have solved BCM4313 problems for others. Hopefully this does the trick:
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1783272.html
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby Der Rote Freiherr on Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:58 pm

I own a Eeepc 1215N with a broadcom wireless card, I solved this problem according to this link:
http://forum.ubuntu-it.org/viewtopic.ph ... mobile=off

Italian language only, sorry but you can just look at the commands ;-)

sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic
sudo apt-get install --reinstall bcmwl-kernel-source
sudo modprobe wl
sudo su
echo 'wl' >> /etc/modules

And

# /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
#
# This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
# at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.
# Parameters can be specified after the module name.

loop
lp
rtc

r8168
wl
Der Rote Freiherr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:52 pm

Re: Broadcom BCM4313 on Petra x86_64

Postby Hoser Rob on Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:36 pm

This may be late but:

This netbook I'm typing on has the same adapter ... bcm4313 with pci id 14e4:4727 (rev 01). It's finicky.

Mint 16 is based on ubuntu 13.10, at least most of them. bcmwl-kernell-source worked fine with 13.04 but I had kubuntu 13.10 installed until recently. I don't know whether it was an issue with ubuntu or their kde implementation but it was pretty broken.

Anyway, apparently bcmwl-kernel-source was deprecated in 13.10. The open source brrmsmac, which is the default choice upon installation, actually works now. I haven't installed any other drivers and it works fine.

The only thing I had to do was install linux-firmware-nonfree, and I can't believe how long it took me to find out about that.
Hoser Rob
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests