Wireless Connection

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
juans91

Wireless Connection

Post by juans91 »

I just tried to install Linux Mint 11 "Katya" but have encountered a problem. When I try to configure my WiFi it becomes very sluggish and stops working completely I really don't know what it is since I'm a newbie, but I had Linux Mint 10 installed and it worked perfectly. I would really appreciate your help. Thanks in advance. :)
My Hardware is:
ASUS EEE PC 1001P
Atheros AR2427 wireless adapter
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
nunol
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Wireless Connection

Post by nunol »

It's a kernel bug!

With mine I got a Kernel Panic with Mint 11 64-bit and Ubuntu/Lubuntu/Xubuntu 11.04.

You have to wait for a new kernel update or use a ppa:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1743979
Cariboo

Post by Cariboo »

Similar problem with wireless connection.
Every some 30 seconds it keeps asking for the password of the wireless connection.
It worked perfect under LM 10 but does not work with LM 11, although no changes to hardware at all
nunol
Level 9
Level 9

Post by nunol »

Whats your wireless chip? Have you tried wicd or the kernel ppa?
Cariboo

Post by Cariboo »

nunol wrote:What's your wireless chip? Have you tried wicd or the kernel ppa?
Chip: TRENDnet Toggle TEW-649UB uses Realtek RTL8192SU chip.
wicd or kernel ppa not tried yet because I do not exactly know what to do :oops:

Can any body help? :?:
Last edited by Cariboo on Sat May 28, 2011 1:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Matt267
Level 3
Level 3

Post by Matt267 »

obscureangelPT

Post by obscureangelPT »