Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby MeansWell on Fri May 09, 2008 2:13 pm

A problem for me - I was doing a little light reading of the new user guide and discovered a marvellous feature called Upload.
of course it tried to get it to work :wink:
Problem - It doesn't appear as an option for me in context right click menus.
I've checked the nautilus options and everything there appears to be in order - with links to the appropriate directories etc.

I'm thinking the problem lies with Gnome - somewhere - just can't seem to guess which setting to tweak.

Any ideas?
MeansWell
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby Husse on Fri May 09, 2008 4:10 pm

Which version of Mint - the upload function came with Daryna (or was it Celena?)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby MeansWell on Fri May 09, 2008 11:18 pm

Version is Daryna (4-Gnome:-)
MeansWell
 

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby Husse on Sat May 10, 2008 5:30 am

You find this in Nautilus actions (not quite sure what it's called in english - that's the downside of localized versions)
Edit or add
First tab
Label Upload
Tooltip Upload to the Internet to share it easily
Icon gtk-sort-ascending
Path /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpload/mintUpload.py
Parameters %d/%f
second tab Conditions
Filename *
Mimetypes */*
Mark Show only files
third tab
Tick local files
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby MeansWell on Sat May 10, 2008 7:45 am

Thanks for looking about H... But i have a slightly different set of Key values. The key name is weirdo numbers: /apps/nautilus-actions/configurations/f510b586-3c37-4025-9e97-5781857e901f
The nautilus actions is err, blank... and appears to have been replaced by the key above as an addendum. This is probably my fault, for trying to customize stuff.
That 'configurations' seems to be the trouble. i'd dearly like to dig it out of the string - but I'm a tad wary of that sort of behaviour, as you can probably guess.
Anyhow, it appears to be missing the Tab references and if I'm meant to put them in, the values are escaping me:-)
For instance the First and second Tabs are either missing or not appearing as tabs. I mention both because I'm unsure whether first and second tabs are meant to be there in the list with values or are meant to be tabs in the screen detailing the actions.
The other alternative is that you're suggesting I add those keys and invent some values for them?
MeansWell
 

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby Husse on Sat May 10, 2008 3:41 pm

Does this make it any clearer? The test is mostly swedish (Villkor = Conditions ther rest I think is self explanatory)
"Upload".png
"Upload".png (38.26 KiB) Viewed 1267 times



Nautilus.png
Nautilus.png (18.05 KiB) Viewed 1266 times
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby meansWell on Sat May 10, 2008 8:56 pm

Well----- it's clear enough in itself - however I'm missing something (undoubtedly some or all of my brain) and it's completely obvious.
Let me explain - I can't get to see any screen material that matched your screen shots.
I can see the detail in the nautilus-actions in the configuration editor - But I suspect I've missed the simple way to populate that set of values - which is where your screen shots are from.
Can you outline the steps you take - what to click on to actually get to those screen shots with their tabs that matter, please?

That's the missing piece of the puzzle for me. I guess as always, there's a simple solution to all this and I've gone straight past it.
meansWell
 

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby Husse on Sun May 11, 2008 8:30 am

Hmm - Nautilus actions can be found in the menu - just type nau in the search field (filter)
You seem to have used the gconf editor...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby MeansWell on Sun May 11, 2008 9:08 am

Bingo!!
Thanks very much for you assistance, H.
the problem has an extremely simple solution - I didn't have nautilus-actions installed.

That's why it didn't front up - Duh... :oops:
MeansWell
 

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby Zwopper on Sun May 11, 2008 10:44 am

Code: Select all
apt install nautilus-action
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby Husse on Sun May 11, 2008 11:08 am

I didn't have nautilus-actions installed.

Installed by default in Daryna (I think...) but not earlier versions
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby exploder on Sun May 11, 2008 12:23 pm

One of the updates removes Nautilus Scripts, that is why it is missing and needs reinstalled.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5872
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Gnome Context menu "Upload" is a no show.

Postby Husse on Sun May 11, 2008 1:52 pm

Damn - you don't happen to know which one?
My system is (probably) up to date and does not have the problem
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to MATE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests