Can I force apps to open on "Main" Monitor

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can I force apps to open on "Main" Monitor

Postby kensmith59 on Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:09 am

I did upgrade to KDE 4.9 and have had no problems. However, before the upgrade I had a problem with apps seeming to want to open on either monitor (I have 2). Mostly, they would open on the monitor that I closed them on, but this does not always seem to be the case.

I would rather all my apps open on my "Main" monitor no matter were I closed them from . Is there a way to force that? This might be simple, but I am pretty new to Linux, but man I am loving it.

Thanks for any suggestions.
kensmith59
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can I force apps to open on "Main" Monitor

Postby Favux on Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:42 am

Hi kensmith69,

I don't know about simple but you might want to look into wmctrl. It is in the repositories.
http://linux.die.net/man/1/wmctrl
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4272 ... -to-wmctrl
http://www.linuxjournal.com/magazine/ha ... top-wmctrl

Or if you are using Compiz you could try the plug-in Put: http://askubuntu.com/questions/152304/s ... under-ubun
Favux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 1:20 am

Re: Can I force apps to open on "Main" Monitor

Postby Gaius on Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:20 pm

It is quite simple to force windows to open whereever and at which size you wish them to, provided you're using KWin (which in all probability you do):

Open the application and then click on the application menu (with Firefox, for example, the 'Firefox' logo) at the top left.
Choose More Actions > Special Windows Settings.
Go to the 'Size and Position' tab and activate the option 'Position'.
Set the first field to 'Apply Initially' and enter '0,0' in the second field. Those coordinates will ensure that the application always initiates at the top left corner of your left-hand monitor.
(If your main screen is on the right-hand side, you'll have to choose the appropriate coordinates, of course, which depend on your screen sizes; just start out by using '0,1000' ... you'll figure it out from there.)

Have a closer look at the other settings on that and the other three tabs, too ... the nice thing about KDE is that you can fine-tune absolutely everything to a fare-thee-well, if you have a mind to.

G.
If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
Gaius
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:06 pm
Location: Germany


Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests