Page 1 of 1

Administrator Privileges for KDE

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:20 am
by jhouse59
How can I get administrator privileges in KDE? I'm trying to install VirtualBox Guest Additions for KDE. When I click on the VBoxLinuxAdditions.run. I get a message that says:
...This program must be run with administrator privileges. Aborting Press Return to close this Window...

Re: Administrator Privileges for KDE

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:27 pm
by 67GTA
open a terminal and become root

Code: Select all

su
then drag and drop the .run file onto the terminal and select "paste". Hit enter. That is the way I always do it.

Re: Administrator Privileges for KDE

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:33 am
by jhouse59
67GTA wrote:open a terminal and become root

Code: Select all

su
then drag and drop the .run file onto the terminal and select "paste". Hit enter. That is the way I always do it.
Thanks 67GTA. Just now had a chance to use this. I've mostly used GNOME. In it the files downloaded are stored in "/var/cache/apt/archives". Is this where KDE's are stored? Will the same updates in GNOME work in KDE?
Thanks Jerry

Re: Administrator Privileges for KDE

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:45 am
by 67GTA
Yes. Apt keeps this cache of everything downloaded and installed on your system. The cool thing about this is you can use AptOnCD to make a CD of up to date packages from the archives to use on another PC, or update a new install to it's current state if you have to reinstall the OS. You can also reinstall something you've already installed without downloading it again because it is cached in the archives. If you run

Code: Select all

apt-get clean
in a terminal, it will empty the archives if you don't have a lot of disk space.

Code: Select all

apt-get autoclean
will only remove the oldest versions of downloaded packages, but not all of them.

Re: Administrator Privileges for KDE

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 9:35 pm
by jhouse59
67GTA wrote:Yes. Apt keeps this cache of everything downloaded and installed on your system. The cool thing about this is you can use AptOnCD to make a CD of up to date packages from the archives to use on another PC, or update a new install to it's current state if you have to reinstall the OS. You can also reinstall something you've already installed without downloading it again because it is cached in the archives. If you run

Code: Select all

apt-get clean
in a terminal, it will empty the archives if you don't have a lot of disk space.

Code: Select all

apt-get autoclean
will only remove the oldest versions of downloaded packages, but not all of them.
I've used AptOnCD to make a CD or ISO file of the updates of my GNOME installation. When I put them on the KDE in the VirtualBox. It still wants to download 100mb of updates. I guess they also have different updates. :?: