HDAPS in XFCE Linuxmint Maya left the panel

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

HDAPS in XFCE Linuxmint Maya left the panel

Postby fichte on Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:27 pm

Hi

i installed hdaps as described in wiki.ubuntuusers.de/Festplattenschutz (wiki in german language) on my lenovoT61 linux mint maya xfce4 64 bit. id does worked (test did succeed). the problem ist the xfce4-hdaps applet. installation was successful. but when i want to add this plugin to the panel then there is this error message:

"Plugin "HDAPS Plugin" unexpectedly left the panel, do you want to restart it? The plugin restarted more than once in the last 60 seconds. If you press Execute the panel will try to restart the plugin otherwise it will be permanently removed from the panel."

then i can only press excecute or remove. if i press excecute, the error messageappears again. if i click on remove, it would not be shown in the panel.
here is the result of the terminal in which the xfce4-panel is running: http://justpaste.it/hdaps
also i placed a bugreport to https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1272512
someone in #xfce channel (on freenode.net) gave me the hint to report this as a bug.

what can i do to solve this problem? what additional info can i give to receive help?

cheers
fichte
fichte
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: HDAPS in XFCE Linuxmint Maya left the panel

Postby fichte on Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:46 pm

There are some news on this issue, but still no solution:

1. Launchpad has marked the Bug as "invalid" because it was not an "ubuntu" issue, because i am using linux mint (see the comment of launchpad on https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1272512

2. yaptu on the german think-pad wiki found out, that my the hdaps was not compatible with my version of XFCE4... (see http://thinkpad-forum.de/threads/170751 ... -the-panel ) this was noticed because i did a command: $ find /usr/lib -name libxfce4panel*
with this results:

/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libxfce4panel-1.0.so.4.0.0
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libxfce4panel-1.0.so.4

i wonder why the xfce4-hdaps package proposed in synaptic does not work.
do you have any idea how to make this work?
fichte
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:12 am


Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest