[SOLVED] Cinnamon-Xfce

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby J.Naw on Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:04 pm

Hello, I was wondering about the xfce edition of mint. I am currently "dual-booting" windows 7 and mint 13 right now, and was wondering if i could go to xfce, and keep the grub and all that fancy jazz. If not, would it be possible to first, erase the mint partition, get my windows dvd back, but back the windows boot MBR, and the install xfce???
Last edited by J.Naw on Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Main: Hp Compaq 8100 elite ,Intel i5 660 3.33ghz, Radeon R7 240 OC'D (2gb MSI), 8gb RAM, 500gb Harddrive, Windows 7 pro x64

Second: Dell Latitude E4310 | Intel i5 540M 4gb Ram|160gb 7200 rpm Drive|Windows 7 64 bit LM 16 Cinnamon 64bit.
J.Naw
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby karlchen on Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:53 pm

Hello, J.Naw.

Reading your title "Cinnamon - Xfce" and your wish to swtich to Xfce, I assume that currently you are running Linux Mint13 with the Cinnamon desktop. Correct?
You would, however, like to use Linux Mint13 with the Xfce desktop. Correct?
If the answer to both question is "yes", then there is good news:
There is no need to re-install Linux Mint13 from the scratch just in order to switch from the Cinnamon desktop to the Xfce desktop.

You can
  1. add the Xfce desktop software first, i.e. install it
    To do so launch Synaptic Package Manager. Search for the Xfce meta package named mint-meta-xfce, dated 2012-June-25 (or newer).
    This is a meta package which depends on all the software packages which together form the Xfce desktop.
    Therefore by selecting mint-meta-xfce for installation, a lot of dependent xfce packages will be selected and installed as well.
    Make sure you get Xfce 4.10 and not an older version.
  2. make the Xfce desktop your primary desktop environment when logging in
  3. ignore Cinnamon for a while and use Xfce only
  4. once you have decided that you want to keep Xfce and never use Cinnamon again, uninstall the Cinnamon desktop software
    To do so launch Synaptic Package Manager. Search for the installed software packages named cinnamon, cinnamon-themes, mint-artwork-cinnamon, mint-meta-cinnamon, mint-info-cinnamon, mint-meta-cinnamon-dvd, select them for de-installation and apply.
    But in fact, there is no real need to do so. You could just keep Cinnamon on the disk forever without using it, just in case you might change your mind in the future and want to go back to Cinnamon.
HTH,
Karl
User avatar
karlchen
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3535
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby odo5435 on Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:35 pm

How to Instal and Manage Multiple Desktop Environments Using GUI in the Community pages may have some information that is useful to you.
LinuxMint 14 'Nadia' 64-bit dual boot with Win' 7 :::<<>>::: Linux Registered User No. 545697
Kernel: Linux 3.5.0-17-generic (x86_64) >< Cinnamon
User avatar
odo5435
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:21 am
Location: Perth, Westerm Australia

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby J.Naw on Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:02 pm

Thankyou, I did look at the boot file, I might not go with it, Thanks for the reply though. I am sticking with linux mint!!!
Main: Hp Compaq 8100 elite ,Intel i5 660 3.33ghz, Radeon R7 240 OC'D (2gb MSI), 8gb RAM, 500gb Harddrive, Windows 7 pro x64

Second: Dell Latitude E4310 | Intel i5 540M 4gb Ram|160gb 7200 rpm Drive|Windows 7 64 bit LM 16 Cinnamon 64bit.
J.Naw
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:24 pm

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby J.Naw on Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:08 pm

Just another question, if i want to use KDE, Can i do the same thing, like install kde on linux mint without reinstalling the operating system?
Main: Hp Compaq 8100 elite ,Intel i5 660 3.33ghz, Radeon R7 240 OC'D (2gb MSI), 8gb RAM, 500gb Harddrive, Windows 7 pro x64

Second: Dell Latitude E4310 | Intel i5 540M 4gb Ram|160gb 7200 rpm Drive|Windows 7 64 bit LM 16 Cinnamon 64bit.
J.Naw
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:24 pm

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby karlchen on Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:26 pm

J.Naw wrote:Just another question, if i want to use KDE, Can i do the same thing, like install kde on linux mint without reinstalling the operating system?
Yes, you can.

Karl
User avatar
karlchen
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3535
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby J.Naw on Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:03 pm

How do i do that?
Main: Hp Compaq 8100 elite ,Intel i5 660 3.33ghz, Radeon R7 240 OC'D (2gb MSI), 8gb RAM, 500gb Harddrive, Windows 7 pro x64

Second: Dell Latitude E4310 | Intel i5 540M 4gb Ram|160gb 7200 rpm Drive|Windows 7 64 bit LM 16 Cinnamon 64bit.
J.Naw
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:24 pm

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby A Future Pilot on Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:21 pm

I'm pretty sure you can just do 'sudo apt-get install kde' in a terminal (no quotes).
User avatar
A Future Pilot
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 9:09 am

Re: Cinnamon-Xfce

Postby caerolle on Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:11 pm

Or, if you want to install KDE graphically, with a bit more info and context provided, use the Software Manager or Synaptic.

Really, you can have several DEs (desktop environments) installed, then just click the 'sessions' button (the middle one) on the login screen to select the one you want to use. Reading the tutorial linked in the earlier post would help you a lot with all this, and it's very short, and not too technical.

caerolle :)
caerolle
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Habitual and 2 guests