Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] XFCE Task Manager - which memory is showing?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:03 pm
by Dibo
Hi,

I'm new in XFCE edition. I used Cinnamon and Mate before. I'm developing desktop application. I often been monitoring how much memory it is consuming. It always was 7-8 MB. On XFCE it is 20 MB. I thought that maybe I did some memory leak. Task manager has only two columns for memory, second is virtual. So I run my application on normal ubuntu and here system monitor showing 7-8 MB. Ubuntu system monitor has more memory columns than XFCE and it showing me:

Resident memory = 21 MB, Writable memory = 6.4 MB, Shared memory = 15 MB, X Server memory = 196 KiB and Memory = 6.6 MB

So it seems that memory which XFCE task monitor is showing is Resident memory? Can I somehow replace XFCE task monitor with ubuntu system monitor (which is showing more memory columns)?

Regards

Re: XFCE Task Manager - which memory is showing?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:55 pm
by xenopeek
Easiest would be to install that same system monitor? You can do so with:

Code: Select all

apt install gnome-system-monitor
After installation, you'll find the System Monitor in the System section of your menu. Enable the additional columns you need in Preferences.

If you're hunting for memory leaks, consider instead using Valgrind. There are also various other suggestions on this topic: http://stackoverflow.com/a/13754307. smem, the comment I linked to, sounds useful perhaps also.

Re: XFCE Task Manager - which memory is showing?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:06 pm
by Dibo
Thanks! I thought that gnome-system-monitor need all GNOME backend environment

Re: [SOLVED] XFCE Task Manager - which memory is showing?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:13 pm
by jjaythomas
Thanks! I thought that gnome-system-monitor need all GNOME backend environment

Yes you can install the gnome/mate system monitor. (It one actually used in the LMDE-Xfce version.)
May want to also look and compare to the 'lxtask' app :wink: Very similar but lxtask list memory used xftask list %mem used by default.

J.Jay