Cannot load Shockwave Flash

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Cannot load Shockwave Flash

Postby Mike Easter on Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:23 pm

Linux Mint 13 XFCE 32 bit
There was a recent jUne 13 update

Commit Log for Thu Jun 13 06:50:04 2013
Upgraded the following packages:
mint-flashplugin-11 (11.0.1.152) to 11.2.202.280

Since that time:
Chrome does not handle flash and displays a banner saying:

Cannot load Shockwave Flash

Firefox does not handle flash and does not display a banner

Chrome is google-chrome-stable (27.0.1453.110-r202711)
Firefox is 21.0, Shockwave Flash plugin enabled
Shockwave Flash
File: libflashplayer.so
Version:
State: Enabled
Shockwave Flash 11.2 r202

An example of 2013 Feb discussions of linux + Cannot load Shockwave flash
https://groups.google.com/a/chromium.or ... oe7NtYRLg4
Issue 173825 in chromium: Could Not Load Shockwave Flash on Ubuntu Precise (Chrome beta)
Mike Easter
Mike Easter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 7:47 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cannot load Shockwave Flash

Postby DrHu on Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:50 pm

Flash is no longer being supplied by Adobe for Linux, however there is always html5 translation for flash in browsers
--even though Safari still gets flash support, html5 translators is also an option for that browser.
http://tv.adobe.com/watch/max-2011-deve ... d-devices/

http://mediaelementjs.com/
--maybe silverlight medfia is a possible option if one wants flash!.
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7037
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Cannot load Shockwave Flash

Postby GeneBenson on Sat Jun 15, 2013 2:27 am

DrHu wrote:Flash is no longer being supplied by Adobe for Linux, ....


Wrong!! Although Adobe is no longer adding new features to Flash it is still releasing new versions with security updates. In fact the last update of mint-flashplugin-11 to version 11.2.202.280 is not even the latest version of flash. The latest version is 11.2.202.291. You can check this out here.

Hi Mike Easter,

Are you using Chrome or Chromium? The reason I ask is because both Firefox and Chromium use the old style flash (libflashplayer.so) whereas Chrome uses the new style flash (libpepflashplayer.so) If both browsers stopped loading flash after the update then perhaps you are using Chromium.

Some websites have stopped supporting the old style flash and when you go to one of those sites flash simply does not load. The Adobe site in my link above does support both versions so if you go there flash should work.

If you are using Chrome then did you try the rename trick mentioned in the thread you linked to?

Hope this helps. :D
GeneBenson
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:55 pm


Return to XFCE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests