AutoCad

Chat about just about anything else
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 30 days after creation.
oshaniyaa

AutoCad

Post by oshaniyaa »

I have a doubt regarding AUTOCAD.I can"t change the values inside the drawing.I used "ed" command but no use. the values or the measurements are in slant position and thats giving me a tough time!! if you want i can even send you the drawing over the net.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 07, 2022 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 30 days after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
vrkalak

Re: AutoCad

Post by vrkalak »

Best Cad program?

As many of the older Linux users may know, I am a Registered Architect (retired) living and working in the US.
I have been using Linux and Open Source exclusively for a few years now. I refuse to use AutoCAD.

I am asked these types of questions all the time.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
AutoCAD is the only true Architectural Design program accepted by most professionals. The AIA (an American Architects Fraturnity) almost disbarred me for not using this Windows-based software.
While there are NO Linux-based drafting programs to rival the maturity of AutoCAD, some like Archimedes, LibreCAD and SagCAD are gaining popularity 'Worldwide' over the AutoCAD drafting/CAD market. In the next couple of years, I can see these programs giving the Windows-based AutoCAD -- serious competition. QCad and SagCAD save their files in the same DXF format as AutoCAD so my saved files are compatible and viewable on most 'any computer.

Like many Windows-based programs, I never did get AutoCAD to work through Wine or VirtualBox.
AutoCAD is very glitchy and unstable, in that regard.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .