Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Chat about just about anything else

Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby inl1ner on Fri May 16, 2014 2:22 pm

I have installed Mint Petra in "Windows 8.1 Hyper-V," which lasted several hours.
As a default 1 CPU has been established.
Because my PC has a 8-core CPU, I want to change this setting, but I found no menu to do so.

I tried to search the forum for the topic "cpu settings", however the term CPU was constantly
ignored so that only "settings" left over, which of course gave unacceptable results:
(Search found 37377 matches: cpu settings - ignored: cpu ).

Is there a solution to both problems ?

Regards
inl1ner
inl1ner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby xenopeek on Fri May 16, 2014 5:40 pm

Moved here as I think you are running Linux Mint as a guest on a Windows host? I'd expect you'd configure the virtualized resources on the host OS, or have you installed something on Linux Mint to be able to do that? Looking up how Hyper-V handles virtualized CPUs, I think you have some reading to do as you're not understanding how Hyper-V does this: http://www.altaro.com/hyper-v/hyper-v-v ... explained/

As for your search problem, please just use your preferred Internet search engine. Add the search term "site:linuxmint.com" to limit search results to the Linux Mint websites. All major search engines support that. That way you can also use the advanced options your search engine gives you for limiting your search results further.

For example, search for "cpu settings site:linuxmint.com" on Google or DuckDuckGo.

But as explained, you won't find relevant result with that as you're going about this the wrong way. Configure Hyper-V. if you need help with that, probably there is some Hyper-V users' forum?
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14982
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby BlackVeils on Sat May 17, 2014 12:47 am

you could use virtualbox instead:
https://www.virtualbox.org/
BlackVeils
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:26 am

Re: Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby xsog on Mon May 19, 2014 5:43 am

thanks i needed that help to :D
User avatar
xsog
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:38 am

Re: Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby inl1ner on Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:18 pm

Thanks at all !

I'm using virtualbox or Mint 16 ...

Regards
inl1ner
inl1ner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:40 pm

Re: Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby xsog on Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:28 am

inl1ner wrote:Thanks at all !

I'm using virtualbox or Mint 16 ...

Regards
inl1ner

the same. does anyone know how to install usb software for virtalbox on mint 16 so i can use my usb's on another os?
User avatar
xsog
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:38 am

Re: Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby Habitual on Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:21 am

in Virtualbox > Settings > System item > Processor tab.
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
User avatar
Habitual
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce

Re: Configure the Numbers of CPU-Cores

Postby BlackVeils on Sat Jun 14, 2014 11:37 pm

xsog wrote:the same. does anyone know how to install usb software for virtalbox on mint 16 so i can use my usb's on another os?


if you mean how do you use a USB device with virtualbox, all I can remember is you need to put the host user into a group called vboxusers or something. i think there is a Spatry video on YouTube about this.
BlackVeils
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:26 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest