Commodore OS Vision

Chat about just about anything else

Commodore OS Vision

Postby elchucko on Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:34 am

I have commodore OS Vision on my PC (MS version) and would like to install the Linux OS version on my Linux Mint14. I'm not an "expert" by any means on Linux Mint. How can I load the COS on my PC?
elchucko
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:13 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Commodore OS Vision

Postby xenopeek on Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:43 am

The last release of COS was on July 3rd, 2012. The operating system never came out of beta phase and is now defunct and discontinued. Why would you want to use this? If you must have it, please install it in VirtualBox or similar and do not use it for anything serious like online banking.

Seeing as you're also still using Linux Mint 14, I recommend you install Linux Mint 17 instead. Linux Mint 14 has reached end of support in April, meaning since april you no longer get security fixes for known security issues. Especially your web browser is becoming more and more insecure to use on the Internet as time goes by and you don't get security fixes for it. I wouldn't use this computer for anything serious right now, like online banking. Don't take such risks.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14561
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Commodore OS Vision

Postby elchucko on Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:53 am

Hi,
Thanks for the reply. I wanted the COS installed to "play around" with it's video and audio features. How do I install it in a virtualbox? Secondly, how do I upgrade from Mint 14 to 17? Thank you
elchucko
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:13 pm

Re: Commodore OS Vision

Postby xenopeek on Mon Jun 30, 2014 10:56 am

To upgrade from Linux Mint 14 to 17 you would do a clean install of Linux Mint 17. You can follow this guide: http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/2. If this computer only has Linux Mint 14 installed, you can follow that. If you have multiple operating systems installed, for example Linux Mint 14 and Windows, it is a bit more difficult.

To try COS in virtualbox just install VirtualBox. The best way (unfortunately) that I know to do that, so you get all packages you need is to install it from the terminal with this command:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get --install-recommends install virtualbox

After installation start it, create a new virtual machine and answer the questions:
- give it a name and set type to Linux
- allocate at least 1 GB memory to the virtual machine
- if you want to install COS and not just run it live also create a virtual hard disk
- done, it's now created
- before you run, if you want it to have Internet access go into settings and change network from attached to NAT to attached to Bridged Network
- you can now run the virtual machine and it will ask you what to boot, browse to the ISO you downloaded of COS
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14561
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Commodore OS Vision

Postby elchucko on Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:02 pm

OK, I installed VirtualBox and have Commodore OS Vision ISO downloaded. I assume I need a Torrent to unpack and then load to VB? Where is the extension .vdi used? What is it?
elchucko
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:13 pm

Re: Commodore OS Vision

Postby elchucko on Mon Jun 30, 2014 10:12 pm

I installed VBox. I downloaded a Commodore OS vdi file. I can open the file in VB and it allows me to select the OS or memory tests. When I select the commodore os VB runs to a black screen displaying a cursor in the upper left of the screen. that's it. I can run the memory test. Ideas? Thank you
elchucko
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:13 pm


Return to Open chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests