What computers have people installed Mint on.

Chat about just about anything else

What computers have people installed Mint on.

Postby L337 on Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:07 pm

What computers(Laptops, and Desktops alike) have people installed Mint Linux Bianca on, with full hardware support?
I have a IBM R50e w/ 512 ram and i have no problems with any thing. The only problem I do have is with video codecs, my videos are a bit washed out but i am currently working on that.
L337
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:53 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby OzTracker on Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:34 pm

Installed on my Dell 700m laptop (512Mb RAM & integrated graphics) with no problems at all :D
User avatar
OzTracker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:50 am

Postby lukeen on Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:24 am

my laptop's more than 2 years old now.
acer aspire laptop with 1,5 ghz centrino, ati 9700, 512mb ram ...
everything working perfect!
i had to add 2 little files to make card-reader and w-lan-led working.
3d-desktop without problems.
;)
User avatar
lukeen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 4:11 pm

Postby ja.folkers on Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:28 am

Acer Travelmate 2302LC - Intel Celeron M330 processor - 1,4 Ghz and 512 Mb.
Works great!
User avatar
ja.folkers
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:07 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby clem on Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:58 am

- Sony Vaio T2XP (512MB RAM, 1Ghz), not only runs Linux Mint but builds it as well :)

--> Only problems: Volume Up/Down and multimedia buttons and Sony Memory Stick Pro reader don't work. ACPI hibernation (don't like it..) and Video-Out (don't need it) not tested.

--> Pros:
- Best laptop I ever had...
- 10.6", don't need a table to use it...
- I don't know, I just love it :)

--> Cons:
- Expensive
- Can't use it in bed without a book under it.. (the quilt kinda obstructs the little fan aeration stuff which is located too low on the side... that's a bit silly).. it gets too hot otherwise (I suppose you can use it to warm the bed but still... although prices are dropping you'll get a hot water bottle for less than that).

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby thomasr on Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:59 am

Dell 400sc Poweredge server
thomasr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:42 pm

Postby bigdee on Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:25 am

Bianca is running sweetly on a self built desktop with a Sempron 2.8, Asus motherboard and 512 ram. No major problems at all and the those that I had were soon resolved by reference to the kind experts on this forum. Windows XP runs pretty slowly under VirtualBox so I am hoping to persuade my wife that a nice 1 Gb stick of Sdram is absolutely essential. :wink:
DAVID
bigdee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Norfolk, England.

Postby will on Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:43 pm

Sony Vaio VGN-FJ170

1.73 GHz processor.... 1.5 Gb of RAM

Works well :-D

I just can't use the MemoryPro Duo or whatever... and like Clem I haven't tested video out
will
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:28 pm

Postby cool_gamer8119 on Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:45 pm

i have an IBM Intellistation E Pro desktop (i am just reading the label!) Runs both XP and Mint...


Pros:
DVD burner (i bought it but still)
Floppy (never get tired of the floppy!)
Has mint on it! (duh)
Intel Pentium 4 on it (1.59 GHz!! WOOHOO!)

Cons:
Seems kinda old, old nvidia card
my wireless card doesnt fit in it right so the cover is off all the time
no port for microphone
2 usb ports in back only, not high speed ports!
only 256 ram

aah the sad story of my computer
linux mint!
User avatar
cool_gamer8119
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:04 pm

Postby Uncle Bob on Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:45 pm

Right now a Dell Latitude D620 and a Compaq EVO N600c

On the Dell, "nothing" works. The Wireless shows up in the device manager, but it does not turn on, so no WiFi. With bluetooth I can only scan for other devices using the terminal. The fastIR is not working either and I have yet to try the smartcard reader. The graphics is an Intel chipset so no Beryl.

All in all, this is a fairly high-spec machine, but not very Minty and unfortunately Vista is the winner. :(
Cogito sumere potum alterum.

Image
User avatar
Uncle Bob
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:43 am
Location: Just another Shire in the United Kingdom

Postby timmyflight on Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:53 pm

eMachines W3107, 1.8 ghz, 100 gb hdd, 8 gb hdd., dvdrw, 512 mb ddr ram,
I also added a floppy drive, (yep, I still use floppies, they are really handy for
some of my business documents). I've got a multimedia panel for memory sticks and stuff from digital cameras, haven't tried it yet because I don't have anything
with those types of cards to go in it lol.
got vista ultimate and linuxmint Bianca.
I don't use vista all that much, surprisingly. Bianca is my everyday "workhorse" OS
Image

Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, and your house
Acts 16:31
User avatar
timmyflight
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:42 pm
Location: PA, USA

Postby Boo on Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:07 pm

dell inspiron laptop 1G RAM 1.6GHz, sweet.
AMD Athlon 2500+ 1G RAM, 2 HDs, 3OSs, AGP Gforce 6600GT. sweet.
Intel 1.1GHz celeron, 392MB RAM, Gforce MX440. video clunky.
and next my Fathers he he he.
:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby L337 on Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:57 am

Well i just installed Mint on my desktop with NO problems at all. I have a
ATI X700
M$ wireless keyboard and mouse
1GB RAM
3 Ghz HT P4
110 GB HHD
Atheros Wifi card
Card Reader
CD RW/DVD ROM
Windows Pro
The live CD was very...laggy but the final instalition went extremly smooth. I will be updating the kernel in a few minutes and i will report back on the wifi because there seems to be a very small amount of people who are having difficulities.
L337
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:53 am

Postby L337 on Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:17 am

well i rant into two problemes,
1. No wifi
2. Could not get a few updates...no biggie

1. Device Manager shows it
Vendor: Atheros Communications, Inc.
Device: AR5212 802.11abg NIC
Status: Status
Device Type: PCI

first thing i did was go to Windows Wireless drivers in the mint menu. I installed the disk that came with my hardware and found the .inf file...and you wouldnt believe this but.... It worked lol.. not to bad for a noob eh?
L337
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:53 am

Postby sanguinemoon on Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:41 am

Glad to hear that worked for you. You can get the Windows drivers to work on other distros, but Mint makes it easier 8)

To answer the original question...well it started off as an eMachines something or other, but I've replaced every piece in it, so it no longer even looks the same :lol: But with all the hardware changes, from going from the integrated graphics on the original MB, replacing the integrated soundcard, etc I've yet to have a hardware compatibility problem with Mint or any other distro.

But I've had some issues with Doors Visa or whatever that other thing is called :roll: (Seriously. Not Microsoft's fault, really but I was using a friend's 2-3 year old ATI card for short time and Beta testing Vista. ATI decided to not have Vista driver for it :roll: People use hardware support as a strawman against Linux, but with Vista, I think the situation is about to reverse itself)
User avatar
sanguinemoon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 5:08 am

My "Mint-Machines"

Postby whufnagel on Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:32 am

Siemens primergy-470 Dual Processor Server with Symbios scsi,
isa-pnp- Soundcard (with isapnptools) installed, 512 MB Ram,
only mint installed (with SMP-Kernel).

installed FTP, web, nfs, mail and samba - server, main application eGroupware.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Siemens scenic 500 with Atheros wlan 400 MB Ram
only mint is installed
--------------------------------------------------------

Homebrewed P-IV with 4-Bea Mainboard, atheros wlan, nvidia graphic 1 GB Ram mixed XP/mint install

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Siemens scenic eL (PIII 800 Mhz) with nvidia graphic, 512 MB Ram

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Siemens AMILO- Notebook (7610 W), (1 year old) 512MB Ram
Mint/XP mixed install

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

via USB i use a IOMEGA ZIP-100 Drive. My Printer is a HP- Laserjet- IV with HP-JetDirect network card, printing with all computers via LAN and cupsys.
My Network ist a mixed lan / wlan, to internet i have a DSL-Line (16000).

you see: mint works also with older Hardware :-)
User avatar
whufnagel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:37 am

Postby Brockhuson on Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:31 pm

mines installed on a self built pc, an acer case, core2 duo extreme processor and 2 gigs of ram, (i splurged on it, it was a birthday present to myself)
Brockhuson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:14 pm

Postby MikeH on Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:42 pm

I have Mint installed on 2 computers:

7 year old Dell Dimension 4100, 1.0ghz, 512 RAM. Only problem Broadcom 4306 wireless, used instructions here to connect.

5 year old Dell Latitude C610, 1.0ghz, 256 RAM. Again, Broadcom 4306 wireless, used instructions here to connect.

I guess I like old computers, but I like the way Mint has brought them back to life. I was feeling left behind, now I feel light years ahead.

Mike
MikeH
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:54 am

Postby ido on Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:22 am

I installed Mint in my Toshiba Satellite A65-S1066 laptop, 512 Ram, 60 g. Everything works just fine.
ido
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby L337 on Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:00 am

MikeH, have you got your wireless drivers working yet? if you have any problems go to the IRC and chat with folks there who may be able to help you. Also, have you tried the use the wonderful Winblow Wireless Drivers? You can go to the Mint menu and highlight ALL and scroll all the way down to the Windows Wireless Drivers. It worked for my desk top.
L337
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:53 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Open chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests