Beta test Windows 7

Chat about just about anything else

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby proxima_centauri on Fri Jan 30, 2009 10:10 am

For those of you who installed in Virtualbox, is your windows7 theme changable, as in the color of the taskbar and whatnot?
I installed with a torrent iso, and the official iso from the website, and I cant seem to apply any aesthetic changes with the exception of the wallpaper.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby AK Dave on Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:50 pm

I have Win7 32bit in Vbox, and I can change themes just fine. No problems.

Maybe there is something to the way I installed vs the way you installed. Dunno. I told Vbox that I'm installed "Windows 2008", because at the time I did this Vbox didn't have a "Windows 7" option. I gave it 512mb ram and 12mb of video, ACPI, and not much else. Once installed, I had to fiddle with guest additions to allow it to install, because Windows 7 wasn't recognised to Vbox. Manual install fixed that. No problems. I then dumbed down the visual settings for Win7, disabling most of the chrome.

It is pretty slow. Giving it 1gb of ram and 64mb of video helped a little, but not much. I wanted a direct compare between Win7 and XP, so I kept with the above low-end hardware settings. My "aero" score is 1.0, due to video, but my laptop is otherwise given 4.0-5.9 ratings for everything else.

I wonder if Win7 is detecting your hardware as "not good enough for Aero" and then not allowing theme management. Which is silly, because I get theme management with crappy settings.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby Katzedecimal on Fri Jan 30, 2009 10:38 pm

Me: "I'm distracting myself from my Best Beloved's howls of agony and frustration."
My friend: "Oh my god, what happened??"
Me: "He's installing Windows 7."

Seriously. This thing is demanding administrator permissions to execute a function. Even after he grants the admin permissions, Win-7 still won't perform the function. What is this terrible task he wants his computer to do? -- copy-pasting some files from one folder to another. It wants admin permission to do a simple copy-paste. ..and it still isn't doing it.

1.5 out of 5 programs have installed correctly to the point of usability. This thing seems to have Apple's old attitude of "only our software on our hardware, no outside apps allowed."

Him: "What's that?!"
Me: "Uh, I installed Cairo Dock."
Him: "Did it install right the first time?"
Me: "Yes?"
Him: "Did it run right the first time?"
Me: "Yes?"
Him: "Then it isn't Windows 7!"

...i chust gun' shot op now... :oops:
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge
User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby lakehousetech on Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:37 am

Has anyone installed it regularly? I'm too busy to download and tinker with the beta ISO, but I'm definitely curious whether it's an improvement over Vista. I've been using XP for gaming, but would consider snagging a copy of 7 to take advantage of DX10.
Wherever you go, there you are... - Buckaroo Banzai
http://www.lakehousetech.com
- Mint Debian
User avatar
lakehousetech
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby Katzedecimal on Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:48 pm

lakehousetech wrote:Has anyone installed it regularly?


That's what my Best Beloved is attempting to do. It's installed, just not cooperating with, y'know, actually being used :lol:

He's having a lot of issues with it. Most of the software he's trying doesn't install or installs and doesn't work properly; Vista versions not much better luck, same deal (how does that work? :roll: ) It's requiring that Eudora Mail be run as Admin (oh there's security! :lol: ) He seems to be having really bad luck though; I described all the issues he's having to a techie buddy who went :shock: because he's installed Win7 on six different test machines at his shop, and hasn't had a problem yet. Maybe the mate is just cursed... (well, he married me, so, yeah... :mrgreen: )
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge
User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby proxima_centauri on Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:59 pm

Katzedecimal,
Not sure if this helps, but in regards to those permission annoyances; you can turn those notifications off in the User Account Control settings, you can set it to Never notify.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby Katzedecimal on Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:27 pm

We've just implemented that, actually - techie buddy made the same suggestion. Best Beloved is awake now so he'll be having another go at it shortly :lol:
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge
User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby lakehousetech on Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:57 pm

Has he installed the 32 bit version of Windows 7? I hope they did something better with that 'User Access Control' crap they had in Vista. At least make it easier for people to shutoff. I remember trying Vista out, and shutting it off (UAC) , only to have it re-appear a few reboots later.
Wherever you go, there you are... - Buckaroo Banzai
http://www.lakehousetech.com
- Mint Debian
User avatar
lakehousetech
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby Katzedecimal on Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:38 pm

It's the 64-bit version that he's installed.
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge
User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby exploder on Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:44 pm

I hope they did something better with that 'User Access Control' crap they had in Vista. At least make it easier for people to shutoff. I remember trying Vista out, and shutting it off (UAC) , only to have it re-appear a few reboots later.


Oh that is a fun one! It took me a while to figure out that I had to go into User's And Groups to turn off that extremely annoying feature!
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5876
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby Wilsonsway on Sun Feb 01, 2009 10:30 am

Downloading and installing vista4experts will eliminate a lot of Vista's garbage and actually make it a lot friendlier to work with. Link is here: http://ntcore.com/vista4experts.php
Registered Linux User #414589 | Scott.Wilsonsway

"Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak." :)
User avatar
Wilsonsway
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:19 am
Location: Southeast, USA

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby brightstar on Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:14 pm

My Windows 7 =)Image
brightstar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 7:31 am

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby garda on Mon Feb 02, 2009 5:09 pm

Windows, at version 7, has looked a lot like KDE, don't you think?
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby AK Dave on Mon Feb 02, 2009 5:40 pm

Sure: KDE4, Win7, OSX, they're all shiny and glossy. Hardly a surprise at that: gloss and chrome sells product. But its like gloss on a laptop LCD: the gloss screens sell better, but the matte screens are easier to actually use productively.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby edwardXXII on Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:52 am

The Linux-community should ignore everything concerning Windows, shouldn't we? ;)
MS sucks... Linux is the only right way!
edwardXXII
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:06 pm

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby proxima_centauri on Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:04 am

edwardXXII wrote:The Linux-community should ignore everything concerning Windows, shouldn't we? ;)
MS sucks... Linux is the only right way!

No - we shouldn't.
That would be the ignorant way.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:43 am

My thoughts are the same as Clem.
clem wrote:We can still learn from other OSes and we can continue to innovate but I personally feel that we’ve already surpassed both Mac OS and Microsoft Windows.
http://www.linuxmint.com/blog/?p=625
Last edited by merlwiz79 on Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby KevMaverick on Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:38 pm

OK, it's shiny and glossy, but where are we going here? Are we going to spend hours just looking at our screens, or are we going to actually do something - work maybe?

It may be nice to drool over a beautiful desktop, but we are losing the fundamental reason for being here - to do something useful! Then again, I do spend 90% of my time using Stumbleupon!!!

To me, a great system is one one that does all the things I want, but doesn't make you want to admire it all the time, yet is functional. Eye-candy is good in your spare time, but we all have to get some work done.....
KevMaverick
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:38 pm
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby EKMA on Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:21 am

I think my personal favorite with 7 is gonna be the 4 inch taskbar at the bottom.... :D ....do you have to use your scroll bar when you open up Notepad?....lol...man that thing is big....I'm beginning to feel a little envious with my 1/2 inch taskbar.................................. :lol:
User avatar
EKMA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:48 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Re: Beta test Windows 7

Postby blevo on Mon Mar 16, 2009 1:08 am

I use 7 as my main OS. I use my computer mostly for surfing the net and watching 720p TV shows. Aero looks cool and I have it enabled. For aesthetic reasons I changed the taskbar back down to xp/vista size. I do like the new functionality of the taskbar with the icons that pin to the bar. Took a bit of getting used to but now I like the click/drag way of opening up the right click menu and no text. Also middle-click to open a new instance.

[I still haven't figured out how to setup a simple firefox launcher on my panel in xfce edition. People say with linux it's mostly unlearning windows ways but draging an icon from the menu to the panel or desktop seems pretty intuitive to me. Click and drag has really been one of the best innovations in all of Desktop history in my opinion.]

vlc LOVES Direct3D 10. Or my video card does (ATI Radeon 4870 512MB). in XP I had to use hardware acceleration to play my 720p files without screen tear but the default output works swimmingly in 7.

I haven't made the effort to get spdif-out to work properly with vlc. whatever worked for 0.8.6 in XP is not working for 0.9.2? in 7. This may be because I didn't make enough effort to install my motherboard's drivers that came on it's CD. It wouldn't even run the cd because it said everything on it was for previous versions of windows. If I remember correctly I had trouble installing my ethernet/LAN drivers to get on the internet.

I'm running the 64bit version with 4GB of RAM and it never uses less that 1GB of physical memory even with aero turned off (pretty sure I turned it off to test that). I never use any sidebar stuff. Truth be told I think it might not even open up for me. Yep, just tried right click>Gadgets...Nothing.

Any drivers you install in "compatibility mode" do not stick after reboot (this is probably why I haven't made the effort to get my "HD Audio" stuff working). I use ext2_ifs to access an ext3 partition I have some files on and whenever I need to access that I need to reinstall ext2_ifs.

my two cents. I may think of more later. I mostly like how fast it sets up compared to XP, but that might be a perception thing--it was smart to not show the desktop until it was closer to being usable as you have to wait a minute before you can realistically do anything in XP.

~Steven
blevo
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:15 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Open chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests